Updated 11/14/2008

Grognards Pre-Con
2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Robert Ryan, MI

2008 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek Consimworld Laurels 

Event History
1991    Tom Oleson        8
1992    Mike Sincavage      13
1993    Mike Sincavage      12
1994    Mike Sincavage      14
1995    Mike Sincavage        9
1996    Mike Sincavage        8
1997    Tom Oleson      10
1998    Mike Sincavage        8
1999    Mike Sincavage     12
2000    Robert Ryan     24
2001    Stephen Likevich     21
2002    Mike Sincavage     18
2003    Mike Sincavage     20
2004    Robert Ryan     22
2005    Paul Fletcher     18
2006     Paul Fletcher     22
2007     Bruno Sinigaglio     33
2008    Robert Ryan     17

PBeM Event History
2001    Bob Ryan     22

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Robert Ryan        MI    08    192
   2.  Paul Fletcher      CT    08    131
   3.  Mike Sincavage     VA    03    114
   4.  Tom Oleson         WA    08    112
   5.  Stephen Likevich   OH    01     74
   6.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    07     32
   7.  Carl Walling       PA    06     30
   8.  Chris Harris       VA    08     25
   9.  Paul O'Niel        MD    06     21
  10.  Mark Bayliss       UK    05     17
  11.  Robert Frisby      VA    08     12
  12.  John Clarke        FL    08      9
  13.  John Grant Jr      CT    01      8
  14.  Randy Heller       NH    06      6
  15.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    05      6
  16.  Bill Scott         VA    03      4
  17.  Walter Garman      MD    99      4
  18.  Steve Foren        FL    07      3
  19.  Brian Addison      VA    05      3
  20.  Bryan Jackson      NY    01      2
  21.  John Ellsworth     IL    01      1

2008 Laurelists                                        Repeating Laurelists 

Tom Oleson, WA

Robert Frisby, VA

Chris Harris, TN

Paul Fletcher, CT

John Clarke, FL

Past Winners

Tom Oleson, WA
1991, 1997

Mike Sincavage, VA
'92-'96, '98-'99, '02

Robert Ryan, MI
2000, 2004, 2008

Stephen Likevich, OH

Paul Fletcher, CT
2005, 2006

Chris Harris (right) accepts congratulations from Carl Copeland in a preliminary game as 2006 champion Paul Fletcher watches. Harris finished 4th overall.

Tom Oleson (left) and Bob Ryan battle it out in the Final. Tom's revised maps and scenarios published on his own dime have breathed new life into a classic wargame.

Year 9 of the Renaissance

Venerable grognard Tom Oleson once again devoted his efforts, time, dedication, and innovation to the Anzio experience.  This year he came equipped with a new rulebook for the game (minor clarifications only); at his own expense! The Sicilia scenario introduced last year remained popular. It has units with undetermined strength (Italians) and is only six turns long.  This makes it a popular option to introduce new players to the Anzio event. As in 2007, Bruno Sinigaglio graciously agreed to GM the event during the 'Grognard' Pre-Con due to the GM not being able to arrive until Monday.

The points scoring system to advance four finalists to the semi-finals the last few years was once again used. The loser in any scenario is awarded one point. A winner of the 15-turn Anzio scenario earned 15 points.  The Sicilia scenario was worth five points and the 21 turn combined Sicilia and Anzio earned 21 points.  However, a winner also gains one bonus point for each win a loser previously had.  In addition, only the best three games counted for each player.  This effectively deals with the issue of a contestant playing more games than any other and/or a player only being involved in matches with less experienced players. 

At 5:00 PM on Friday the four highest scoring players entered into the single elimination portion of the tournament. Those four players were:

1.     Tom Oleson 79 pts

2.     Bob Ryan 65 pts

3.     Robert Frisby 44 pts

4.     Chris Harris 44 pts

The semi-final matches were Tom vs. Chris and Bob vs. Robert. Tom Oleson was the first to move on to the Final round.

The other match had Bob with the 16th Panzer guarding the beaches at Termoli so Robert came ashore at Terracina. The Germans eliminated the Port at Taranto on the September 2 turn and put pressure on the Allied beachhead. The Allies had a long ways to go from the toe to get help up to the invasion force without the use of Taranto. A mistake by Bob on the September 4 turn allowed Robert to execute a Retreat Forward and effectively relieved the immediate pressure at Terracina. While the Germans held at Terracina, they had to give ground, albeit grudgingly, to the Allied forces advancing northward up the boot. Robert executed the Second Invasion at Termoli on the November 2 turn. The German was able to create a line across the peninsula from Termoli to Naples to keep the Allied forces at Terracina isolated. The game came down to a December 3 counter-attack at Pescara by the Germans that was successful. 

The Final began Saturday morning with Tom's Allies landing at Salerno. The game proceeded in what would be called a relatively 'normal' fashion with both sides punching and counter-punching until the November 1 turn when the Allies invaded at Mondragone! The second invasion had effectively cut-off two German divisions just north of Naples. The German had protected Rome, Termoli and Terracina from the second invasion, but did not have enough units to cover their rear area at Mondragone. The Germans counter-attacked and dug in from Formia to Foggia. The November 3 turn saw the Allies attacking full bore toward Termoli. The Allies still had their fourth Port counter in hand and wanted to open a Port on the east side of the boot (though this never did happen). On the December 2 turn the Allies went back to putting the pressure on at Formia, but could not get even a 'stick' to force the German to either attack or backup. By holding at Formia to protect Terracina and stacking as much as possible at Casino the game came down to a series of attacks by the Allies toward Termoli. The game ended after the December II turn following two consecutive '1' die rolls by the Germans. So, for yet another year, the Anzio Final was memorable for an unusual course of play. 

Lastly, many thanks are again due to Bill Morse for the time he contributed in logging all matches, keeping score, posting results, etc.  Thia tournament as well as all the Grognard events owes much to his efforts.

 GM      Bob Ryan  [2nd Year]   NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page