Updated 11/14/2008

 2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Greg Thatcher, CA

2008 Champion

Offsite Links



Event History
2003   Arthur Field     85
2004   Evan Tannheimer     73
2005    Nick Anner     53
2006   Arthur Field     49
2007    Sam Atabaki     57
2008   Greg Thatcher     67

Euro Quest History
2003   Arthur Field     17

PBeM History
2008   Kevin Wojtaszczyk     30

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Arthur Field       SC    06     83
   2.  Greg Thatcher      FL    08     54
   3.  Nick Anner         NY    07     51
   4.  Evan Tannheimer    MA    05     42
   5.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    08     40
   6.  Rich Meyer         MA    08     30
   7.  Eric Freeman       PA    08     30
   8.  Sam Atabaki        CA    07     30
   9.  Mike Kaltman       PA    08     27
  10.  Andrew Gerb        MA    06     27
  11.  Alex Bove          PA    08     22
  12.  Curt Collins II    PA    07     18
  13.  Davyd Field        SC    05     18
  14.  Ilan Woll          CT    08     15
  15.  Doug Smith         PA    08     12
  16.  Brian Kowal        WI    07     12
  17.  Raphael Leher      MD    06     12
  18.  Brian Jones        NC    05     12
  19.  John Kerr          VA    03     12
  20.  Jonathan Tivel     VA    04      9
  21.  Luke Koleszar      VA    03      9
  22.  Tom Browne         PA    08      8
  23.  Ken Dozier         NC    03      8
  24.  Greg Crowe         VA    07      6
  25.  Joshua Cooper      MD    06      6
  26.  Shannon Beets      CA    05      6
  27.  Tyler Sheaffer     CA    04      6
  28.  David Fogel        MD    03      6
  29.  Tom Dunning        NY    08      4
  30.  Rob Taylor         MI    03      4
  31.  John Pack          CO    05      3
  32.  Tom McCorry        PA    03      2

2008 Laurelists                                                  Repeating Laurelists: 0

Eric Freeman, PA

Doug Smith, PA

Rich Meyer, MA

Alex Bove, PA

Ilan Woll, CT

Past Winners

Arthur Field, SC
2003, 2006

Evan Tannheimer, MA

Nick Anner, NY

Sam Atabaki, CA

Greg Thatcher, CA

Dave Platnick and Barb Flaxington on the Nile but fail to advance this time.

Eric Freeman ponders a move as Alfred Smith and Matt Calkins wait their turn.

Beware the Pharoah-Maker ...

For the second straight year, an alternate advanced to the semi-finals with a second place finish and then won the entire tournament.

Heat 1 filled nine tables. One table saw very aggressive bidding as early as Round Two (Thebes 10, Edfu 10, Amarta 6, Buto 6, Mendes 0). Unfortunately, very slow play plagued two others -- when 1:20 had elapsed and neither had finished Round 4 (leaving less than 30 minutes for the final two rounds), both tables were directed to end their games after Round 5. A more robust method of resolving slow-playing games will be developed before the 2009 convention. Heat 2 managed to put together ten tables, and for the first time in three years there was difficulty finding enough sets. Please remember to bring your copy, even if we don't expect to need it.

With 19 table winners, we established five 4-player games to create a 5-player Final. When four of the winners failed to appear, we took all five alternates who stuck around rather than drop to a 4-player Final - proving yet again the value of persistance.

Alex Bove was first Pharaoh, a position he would hold for four of the six rounds but one that he could not effectively exploit. Rich Meyer opened a 16-13-9-8-8 lead in the Old Kingdom on the strength of two power cards and economical bidding (while Eric dropped the -3 all three rounds, Rich bid 1 all three rounds netting him four free farmers towards the 9-farmer power card). Greg's consistent 3 bids got him the Pharaoh for Rounds 3 and 4, and after the flood a bid of 21 with blocker got him Avaris already with three pyramids, and when he also snagged Damanhur for 21 in Round 5 he was able to score two power cards of his own and 33 in the New Kingdom for a 41-34-33-32-30 win.

Having the Most Pyramids (11-10, 40-39 four-year) remains a more reliable path to victory than Most Cash (8-13, 27-52 four-year) or the halftime lead (7-14, 34-45 four-year). Four-player games were played with the same three provinces removed before the game (Abydos, Amarna, and Kharga). Due to the removal of
the 4-power-card province from the game, the requirement for the Power Card bonus card was reduced from 7 to 6 in those games.

 On-Line Tournament

WOJTASZCZYK WINS AMUN RE: Kevin Wojtaszczyk emerged triumphant over a field of 30 players in our first on-line Amun Re Tournament. The 30 engaged in a round robin format of six five-player games to ensure that each player played everyone else once in the six-round preliminaries. Tom Dunning emerged from the Preliminaries with the top score of 47 followed by Kevin in second with 43 points. The top 12 scorers then engaged in a three-round semi-final, again playing each other once in three four-player games which proved to be very close - one game being decided by a total difference of just three points between first and last. This led to a five-player Final for the title. Mike Kaltman (6th in the preliminary round) took second followed by Alex Bove (5th), Eric Freeman (4th), and Tom Browne (3rd). Tom Dunning fell to sixth.

 GM      Jeremy Billones [4th Year]   NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page