titan 2 [Updated October 2007]  

2007 WBC Report    

 2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

Sean McCulloch, OH

2007 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1994    Paul Goliwas      26
1995    Bruno Wolff      26
1996    Brian Sutton      17
1997    Brian Sutton      29
1998    Ed Rothenheber      39
1999    Jason Ley     32
2000    Brian Sutton     36
2001    Andrew Gross     30
2002    Dan Strock     36
2003    Aaron Fuegi     25
2004    David des Jardins     24
2005    David des Jardins     24
2006    John Sharp III     26
2007     Sean McCulloch     22


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  David des Jardins  CA    07     89
  2.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    07     88
  3.  Brian Sutton       MD    07     63
  4.  Dan Strock         PA    06     55
  5.  Andrew Gross       WA    03     49
  6.  John Sharp III     FL    06     32
  7.  Sean McCulloch     OH    07     30
  8.  David Finberg      MA    03     30
  9.  Clifford Smith     PA    05     28
 10.  Jason Ley          WA    03     26
 11.  David Platnick     VA    01     24
 12.  Bruno Wolff        WI    05     20
 13.  Jeff Cornett       FL    06     18
 14.  Bill Dufton        CA    02     16
 15.  Hide Hisanaga    Japan   07     12
 16.  Ed Rothenheber     MD    06     12
 17.  Ben Foy            MD    02     12
 18.  Chuck Nail         GA    02     12
 19.  Larry Lingle       PA    01     12
 20.  Geofrrey Pounder   ON    07      9
 21.  Steve Koleszar     VA    01      8
 22.  Dave Burkey        PA    04      4
 23.  Rick Northey       MA    05      3
 24.  Jason Russ         VA    99      2

2007 Laurelists

Aaron Fuegi, MA

Hide Hisanaga, Japan

Geoffry Pounder, ON

Brian Sutton, MD

David desjardins, CA

Past Winners

Paul Goliwas, MD

Bruno Wolff, WI

Brian Sutton. MD
1996-1997, 2000

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Jason Ley, WA

Andrew Gross, WA

Dan Strock, PA

Aaron Fuegi, MA

David des Jardins, CA

John Sharp III, FL

Hide Hisanaga battles the Titan GM Bruno Wolff.

 Larry Lingle (right) falls victim to Aarun Fuegi in an early round.

Titan for the socially challenged ...

We welcomed two players from Japan this year, Hide Hisanaga and Akahisa Tabei. Hide performed well in the tournament, besting past champions Bruno Wolff and David DesJardins in the second and third rounds, and losing to past champion Aaron Fuegi in the semi-final to take 3rd place. Throughout the tournament, he delighted all with whom he came into contact, and he was courteous and considerate to everyone. Thank you to both of our new friends from Japan.

Sean McCulloch got to the Final by beating former champion Dan Strock in the first round and newcomer Geoff Pounder in the third. Against Geoff, in the match to see who would face Aaron in the Final, he attacked with three warlocks early enough that Geoff's Titan was still strength six, and five out of six warlock range strikes on the Titan meant the battle was decided.

in the deciding battle of the Final, Aaron attacked a stack with his 6-strength Titan that should have been an easy kill. Two trolls held down the right flank. Aaron put a ranger between them and his Titan on the outside troll, protected by the edge of the battlefield and a line of creatures filling in behind. His Titan swung on the troll and got only two hits, four out of six ones on the dice. Even with this downside, the ranger swung at the other troll, since the Titan and ranger easily kill the outside troll on the next swing. But long odds made their presence felt. The two trolls got eight hits, needing sixes, out of sixteen dice, to kill the ranger and put four hits on the Titan. All was not lost, since Aaron could still escape. Sean's gorgon flew to take the spot vacated by the dead ranger, and gorgon and troll together only got one additional hit on Aaron's Titan. However, the warlock and ranger now adjacent to the gorgon only got five hits, needing six to kill it. Aaron might have been able to kill both the troll and gorgon if he had gotten more hits on his first Titan swing, but now those two creatures had seven hits of life and Aaron had but six dice left. His Titan fell on the next swing, and Sean McCulloch became a first time champion. Well done Sean! We'll be looking forward to having you defend your title next year.

 GM      Rich Atwater  [4th Year]  NA 
    kmarma@comcast.net   (253) 241-6829

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page