stock car championship racing [Updated October 2007] 

2007 WBC Report    

 2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

Jean Younkin, VA

2007 Champion

Offsite Links:


Event History
1999    Rebekah Garton     37
2000    Tim Dolan     68
2001    Devin Flawd     60
2005    Seth Gunar     47
2006    Seth Gunar     42
2007     Jean Younkin     49


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Seth Gunar         NJ    06     60
  2.  Jean Younkin       VA    07     30
  3.  Devin Flawd        PA    01     30
  4.  Tim Dolan          NJ    00     30
  5.  Derek Miller       VA    07     18
  6.  Mike Buccheri      MD    07     18
  7.  Jim Bell           MD    06     18
  8.  Keith MacFarland   NJ    05     18
  9.  Dan Hoffman        NC    01     18
 10.  Andy Lewis         DE    00     18
 11.  Kevin Brown        CA    06     12
 12.  Phillip White      MD    05     12
 13.  Steve May          MD    01     12
 14.  Bill Place         PA    00     12
 15.  Rebekkah Garton    VA    99     10
 16.  Nate Timko         PA    07      9
 17.  Chad Gormly        MA    06      9
 18.  Stuart Tucker      MD    05      9
 19.  Adam Gugliemini    PA    01      9
 20.  Darren Velez       NY    00      9
 21.  Rob Buccheri       MD    07      6
 22.  Steve Caler        OH    05      6
 23.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    01      6
 24.  Bob Olivere        AZ    00      6
 25.  John Weber         MD    99      6
 26.  Ken Sheffield      VA    99      4
 27.  Marshall Daw       NM    07      3
 28.  Mike Garton        VA    06      3
 29.  Rex Lehman         FL    05      3
 30.  Dave Bohnenberger  PA    01      3
 31.  Brian Carr         VA    00      3
 32.  Carol Caler        OH    99      3
 33.  Steve Cameron      PA    99      2
 34.  Joe Sposito        NJ    99      1

2007 Laurelists

Derek Miller, VA

Mike Buccheri, MD

Nate Timko, PA

Rob Buccheri, MD

Marsahall Daw, NM

Past Winners

Rebekkah Garton, VA

Tim Dolan, NJ

Devin Flawd, PA

Seth Gunar, NJ

Asst. GM John Weber stewards a preliminary heat.

Jean Younkin qualifies for the Final in her only heat.

Mom cleans up the Boys with Toys ...

Two-time defending champion Seth Gunar was one of four drivers to race in all three heats in his attempt to defned his title to no avail. None of the other previous champions were on hand so we were guaranteed a new winner in 2007 and the large turnout aggressively pursued their chance for the checkered flag! We ran three exciting heats on One Mile Oval tracks using two-lane racing rules. John Weber did hero's work helping me run the heats and I was glad to see he was one of the 18 who made it to the WBC 500 Championship Race.

The Final was a spectacular event held on a huge circular track using 1/24 scale cars. We used a SuperSpeedway track deck with two-lane rules, pit windows, tire wear and the new sling pass rules. The drivers were cautious and held back a little until after the first round of pit stops with Nate Timko leading the charge in his specially gold played #94 car, The first yellow flag came out for debris on the track on lap 57. After the restart, John "Lead Foot" Weber, driving the #3 Intimidator car, got a bit impatient and blew his engine trying to get to the front on lap 91, becoming the first driver to retire to his trailer - but he wouldn't be the last. That brought out the second yellow for the day.

After the restart,, drivers took turns leading and avoiding slow traffic. It was really fun to watch the drivers teaming up and working together to get to the front and the new sling pass rules helped keep the action lively. Another exciting moment occurred when the pit window opened for the second and final round of green flag pit stops. Three drivers opted to stay on the track and try to make it to the end on the tires and gas they were carrying. That put everyone else a lap down until a four-car pile up on lap 190 brought out the third yellow.

Jean Younkin in the #99 car was the only driver of those cars that opted to stay out, that was able to avoid the crash, which reshuffled the leader board once again. Three cars got back on the lead lap which set us up for a four-lap shoot out finish. Jean in the #99 car took the checkered flag to become only the second woman to win a WBC 500 race. Her son, Derek Miller, in car #05, came in second followed by Mike Buccheri in car #26. Overall it was an exciting series. It was really impressive to see the gamesmanship and professionalism of the drivers. I look forward to next year's WBC Race for the Chase.

The circular track used in the Final is way cool.

GM John McLaughlin directs the action from the center of the track.
 GM     John McLaughlin [1st year]  216 Kinnakeet Run, Yorktown, VA 23693  757-256-3631 

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page