formula de [Updated October 2007]  

2007 WBC Report  

 2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

Lance Fogel, PA

2007 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
2000    Keith Levy     65
2001    Roderick Lee     80
2002    Barry Smith     58
2003    Steven May     50
2004     James Kendrick     52
2005     Jason Levine     63
2006    Jason Levine     62
2007    Lance Fogel     60


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Barry Smith        NY    05     89
  2.  Lance Fogel        PA    07     72
  3.  Jason Levine       NY    06     60
  4.  Robert Kircher     MA    02     38
  5.  Roderick Lee       CA    06     36
  6.  James Kendrick     UK    04     30
  7.  Steve May          MD    03     30
  8.  Keith Levy         MD    00     30
  9.  Rob Runnicles      FL    06     24
 10.  Patrick Maloney    PA    07     18
 11.  Joe Sposito        NJ    04     18
 12.  Ilan Woll          CT    03     18
 13.  Matt Muir          MD    00     18
 14.  Steve Field        IL    02     15
 15.  Brad Johnson       IL    02     13
 16.  Josh Githens       SC    07     12
 17.  Doug Galullo       FL    06     12
 18.  Rich Shipley       MD    05     12
 19.  Steve Cameron      PA    04     12
 20.  Stan Buck          MD    00     12
 21.  David Albin        PA    07      9
 22.  Nick Henning       CT    07      9
 23.  William Kendrick   UK    06      9
 24.  Jessica Finkeldey  MD    05      9
 25.  Paul Murphy        UT    03      9
 26.  Bill Dyer          IL    01      9
 27.  Jim Rochford       IL    00      9
 28.  Mark Mitchell      VA    03      8
 29.  Harrison Anderson  PA    07      6
 30.  Lance Fogel        PA    05      6
 31.  David Wong         NJ    01      6
 32.  Joe Wetherall      PA    00      6
 33.  Chris Hancock      NH    06      3
 34.  Jim Castonguay     PA    05      3
 35.  Eric Lenhart       PA    04      3
 36.  Eric Eshleman      PA    00      3

2007 Laurelists

Patrick Maloney, PA

Josh Githens, SC

David Albin, PA

Harrison Anderson, PA

Nicholas Henning, CT

Past Winners

Keith Levy, MD

Roderick Lee, CA

Barry Smith, NY

Steven May, MD

James Kendrick, UK

Jason Levine, NY
2005 - 2006

 Three of the 58 male drivers in the field contest a preliminary race. Where are all the Danica Patricks? Only two young ladies braved the course.

Two-time defending champ Jason Levine points to the burning mess that was his car as he exits the Final.

Laurels for the Survivors

On the day before Nascar's Pocono 500, race fans came down state to catch the real action at Lancaster's famous "10th Anniversary" race course for the finale of the WBC Formula De season. After 12 preliminary races in locations ranging from Bahrain to France; from China and Japan to Watkins Glen 10 finalists came to Lancaster to duke it out. At the pole was Bethlehem, PA's favorite son Lance Fogel as the only multiple-heat winner.

A new "mulligan" rule was enacted, allowing each racer one chance to reach back in time to save themselves from fate (with a reroll). This proved critical to Patrick Maloney as his safety was used to avoid turning his tires into shredded rubber. In the early turns David Albin and Rich Shipley constantly traded the lead in a see-saw battle for the lead of the pack.

However, aggressive, risk-taking by Josh Githens and former champ Jason "Too Mean" Levine on the final turn and the decision not to pit after lap 1 put these two garage gladiators into the lead. On, the final turn, the oddly named Virage Droopy had its revenge claiming its first casualty as Kevin Hacker became a grease stain on the wall, the cost of trying to drive 100mph in this dangerous curve.

Nick Henning earned race honors for two acts, one exceptional, the other icky. The exceptional was rerolling a 23 which would have left him five spaces shy of Rod Runner's Turn and achieving a 28, the optimal roll for that situation, earning the "Best use of a Mulligan" award. The icky involved leaving a chocolate bar inside of his game badge and sitting on it while it melted creating the most disgusting game badge in WBC history.

Putting the pedal to the metal, NYC's Jason Levine moved from last in qualifying into first place on Mad Mac's Turn. Lap 2 otherwise continued rather uneventfully save for some bumping and grinding of engines until, again at Droopy's turn, Chris Palermo lost control and flipped after hitting some debris that had been Kevin Hacker's transmission. Gonzo driving paid off for Lance Fogel, who made his move at Vieage Guyness, pulling a risky 6th gear, which allowed him to make the next two turns on one stop each.

However, the constant high speeds started to take their toll. Rich Shipley's engine became a molten ball of lava half way into Turn 3 and Jason Levine's engine caught fire ending the two-time defending champ's quest for a three-pete. Nick Henning was unable to slow down enough to avoid becoming the final victim of the track as he sped into Rod Runner Curve and went through the wall.

Thus, the last two turns saw the survivors assurred of laurels, Lance Fogel, David Albin, Josh Githens, Patrick Maloney, and Harrison Anderson, whose strategy of safe driving kept him around when others became track debris. At the end, frequent laurelist Lance Fogel finally ended his drought in Formula De finals, winning the race and the glory that goes with it.

 GM      Ilan Woll [1st Year]  NA   203-918-4367

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page