circus maximus [Updated October 2007]  

 2007 WBC Report  

 2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

Josh Githens, SC

2007 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1991    Tim Flanigan        54
1992    Jeff Barnum        67
1993    Barry Smith        35
1994    Mike Stanley        47
1995    Mike Pantaleano        72
1996    Bruce Monnin        64
1997    John Jacoby        72
1998    Mike Stanley        84
1999    Frank Sinigaglio       74
2000    Mike Stanley       85
2001    Steve Katz       76
2002    Steve Katz       71
2003    Tom Saal     103
2004    Scott Sirianna       87
2005    John Tighe       87
2006     Karl Henning       75
2007     Josh Githens       95


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Josh Githens       SC    07    165
  2.  Steve Katz         VA    02    144
  3.  Tom Saal           MI    04    120
  4.  Anthony Musella    VA    05    102
  5.  Scott Sirianna     NY    06     80
  6.  John Tighe         NJ    05     72
  7.  Bill Beckman       SC    03     72
  8.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    04     68
  9.  Mike Stanley       OH    00     60
 10.  Karl Henning       CT    06     50
 11.  Charles Goodwin    OH    00     42
 12.  Carl Walling       PA    02     38
 13.  Nick Henning       CT    07     36
 14.  Bill Edwards       VA    03     34
 15.  Joseph Burch       MD    06     30
 16.  Paul Bolduc        FL    07     24
 17.  Tim Dolan          NJ    02     24
 18.  Lane Hess          PA    07     18
 19.  Kevin Hacker       PA    05     18
 20.  Alfred Wong        IL    01     18
 21.  Mike Hazel         SC    04     18
 22.  Mark Love          MD    99     15
 23.  Gerald Lientz      VA    07     12
 24.  Stephen Quirke     WI    05     12
 25.  Matthew Beach      MD    04     12
 26.  Brett Mingo        MD    03     12
 27.  Chris Robbins      UT    06     10
 28.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    07      6
 29.  Angela Collinson   MD    05      6
 30.  David Weinstein    NY    03      6
 31.  Francis Spencer    MD    02      6
 32.  Carl Sykes         SC    01      6
 33.  Jim Munson         UT    06      5
 34.  Mike Fisher        PA    99      5

2007 Laurelists

Nick Henning, CT

Paul Bolduc, FL

Lane Hess, PA

Gerald Lientz, VA

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

Past Winners

Barry Smith, NY

Mike Stanley, OH
1994, 1998, 2000

Bruce Monnin, OH

John Jacoby, VA

Frank Sinigaglio, NJ

Steve Katz, VA

Tom Saal, MI

Scott Siriana, NY

John Tighe, NJ

Karl Henning, CT

Anticipation is high in hopes of more body surfing as Gerald Lientz rolls to enter the far turn.

It appears the stakes have been upped in the Final with Reeses Cups replacing kisses as rewards for being first out of each turn.

blood amongst the kisses

A sweet aspect of John Jacoby's Circus Maximus event is that he rewards the first driver into each turn with a Hershey's Kiss. The candies replace the dolphins which were upturned in the Roman Colosseum to record the number of laps run.

The 2007 Final was a bloodbath of 12 chariots. There were no lights, and the only medium received so much attention that it lost a horse by turn 3. After that it got ugly as heavies turned on heavies. Six teams had less than four animals left by race end. Three drivers had no chariots to ride as they tried the new sand surfing sport that's all the rage in Rome these days... with fatal consequences. This trend seemed to be brought on by 34 missing wheel spokes .... truly shoddy workmanship by the wheelwright guild. An investigation is under way.

With all that carnage behind them, three chariots came out of the final turn with victory in their grasp. Nick Henning, with eight spokes missing, finally risked increasing speed above 13 and flipped. Josh Githens team straddled the finish line with victory one space away. But a failed attack by another chariot allowed them to evade over the finish line for the win. Meanwhile, Nick Henning survived his body surfing lesson to finish second. Paul Bolduc evaded twice to cross the line for third.

Experience served Josh well. As the only returning laurelist, he improved on a 2nd place finish in 2005 that found him tied in distance over the finish line but lost by being drawn after the winner.

The big news in the Colosseum this year is the plan to return to a four heat format in 2008 with a special demolition derby heat played on a single double- or triple-sized track. Not for the feint of heart ...

Thumbs Up? I thought the gladiatorial games were next week.

Enthusiasm abounds as some poor soul kisses the wall.


 Is there no task too great for the Greenville Mafia? Having won the adult version, they show up in force to harness little charioteers as well. Above Ralph Gleaton whips a bunch into line.

 Carl Sykes ramrods his crew through the first turn. The hardest part was guarding the Hershey kisses long enough to get through the turns.

 Circus Maximus Junior

25 little charioteers reported to the Juniors Colosseum which was ably manned by volunteers from the Greenville Mafia who earned their stables the hard way. The swiftest kid proved to be Cameron Graf. He was followed in order by:

2nd: Keith Boone

3rd: Jack Doughan

4th: Nathan Taylor

5th: Phillip Entwistle

6th: Jaclyn Sands

 GM     John M. Jacoby [9th year] 102 Deerwood Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22911
   NA 434-973-3065

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page