bitter woods [Updated July 2, 2008]  

2007 WBC Report    

 2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

Tom Gregorio, PA

2007 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Boardgamegeek GM Site
Consimworld  L2 Design Group

WBC Event History
1999    Phil Evans     19
2000    Randy Heller     16
2001    Rich Ogata     14
2002    Tom Gregorio     16
2003    Bob Ryan     17
2004    Bob Ryan     20
2005    Randy Heller     20
2006    Steve Likevich     21
2007    Tom Gregorio     21

PBeM Event History
2000    Randy Heller     20
2001    Bob Ryan     27
2002    Tom Gregorio     25
2005    Phil Evans     27
2008    Bruno Sinigaglio     32


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Randy Heller       NH    07    168
  2.  Tom Gregorio       PA    07    121
  3.  Bob Ryan           MI    05    116
  4.  Phil Evans         VA    05     94
  5.  Steve Likevich     OH    08     57
  6.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    08     54
  7.  Forrest Pafenberg  VA    06     45
  8.  Mike Mitchell      GA    02     38
  9.  John Grant Jr      CT    01     35
 10.  Rich Ogata         VA    01     30
 11.  Mike Pacheco       CA    05     24
 12.  Bill Morse         VA    08     21
 13.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    08     18
 14.  Dan Tierney        CA    05     18
 15.  Doug James         NC    06     15
 16.  Marty Musella      VA    05      9
 17.  John Popiden       CA    04      9
 18.  Nick Frydas        UK    03      9
 19.  Jim Tracy          OH    05      7
 20.  Jeff Lange         APO   08      6
 21.  Ed Witkowski       VA    07      6
 22.  Jeff Hacker        PA    05      6
 23.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    08      3
 24.  Johnny Hasay       PA    07      3
 25.  Lance Roberts      AK    05      3
 26.  Rob Mull           CO    02      3
 27.  Chris Roginsky     PA    01      3
 28.  Paul Koenig        CA    00      3
 29.  Rob Beyma          MD    02      2

2007 Laurelists

Randy Heller, NH

Steve Likevich, OH

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Ed Witlowski, VA

Johnny Hasay, PA

Past Winners

Phil Evans, VA

Randy Heller, MD
2000, 2005

Rich Ogata, VA

Tom Gregorio, PA
2002, 2007

Bob Ryan, MI

Steve Likevich, OH

Alan Hayes and James Tracy during the Grognard pre-con outside the tournament.

 Tom Gregorio (left) and Ed Witkowski enjoy their tournament match.

Designer Denied ...

Twenty-one gamers participated in this year's tournament. The scenario to be played was determined by a random die roll. There were 15 U.S. and 10 German victories recorded. Most players opted to select sides via random die roll, so the distribution of sides was primarily random.

Newcomer, Ed Witkowski, proved to be this year's wild card by defeating seasoned player, Marty Musella, as the Germans. Johnny Hasay nearly pulled off a big upset on the last game-turn of the eight turn tournament scenario vs Randy Heller by placing Fuh. Es. in reserve to capture Spa during the mechanized exploitation phase. Alas, his die rolls would not cooperate. Throughout play, several gamers chose to make some bold moves with their KG Peiper breakout move, resulting in the destruction of this powerful unit in no less than a record four games played.

Past champs, Tom Gregorio and designer, Randy Heller, squared off in the final round, with Tom taking the Americans in the eight turn tournament scenario. Choice of sides and scenario were again determined by random die rolls. Randy's Germans fell flat on the opening turn, with no built bridges, surrounded enemy units, engagements, or significant advances. Rocherath-Krinkelt, Hofen, Schonberg, and Vianden remained in American control. By Turn 3, the Germans had recovered to a large degree. A key Angriff attack along the Beho-Gouvy road net trapped two full strength American units. On the 17 AM urn, Tom was confronted with a 2-1 (-1) attack in front of Stavelot and a 3-1 (-1) attack on Malmedy. The latter had the potential of trapping several of Tom's units NE of Malmedy. Once again, Randy's die rolls fell flat. Tom responded with a series of aggressive counterattacks in the north, resulting in the destruction of no less than six German infantry units. In the south, Bastogne was threatened by mid-game. Although a fortification could not be built due to the proximity of German units, Tom was able to retain possession of the town with the aid of the Middleton leader unit. The climax of the game came with the opportunity to capture Parker's Crossroads on the 18th of December. Randy needed either a 2-1 (-1) at the Salmchateau bridge or a 3-1 (-1) on a surrounded unit at Gouvy to result in a defender retreat to open up a road net for mechanized exploitation. Once again his die rolls failed to cooperate. The Germans did succeed in capturing the victory point town of Trois Points, but only eliminated nine American units. In a valiant and successful effort, Tom Gregorio forced Randy to throw in the towel on 19 AM, returning the Bitter Woods crown to the former champ.

SINIGAGLIO WINS BITTER WOODS PBeM TITLE: The fifth BPA Bitter Woods PBeM tournament got underway on December 16th, 2006 to commemorate the battle with 32 players and has ended five rounds later with Bruno Sinigaglio's GI's defeating son Buddy's Germans to claim his first title. The Americans won 20 of the 31 games played, including six of the last seven. Other laurelists in order were Bill Morse, Steve Likevich, Jeff Lange and Frank Sinigaglio.

 GM      Randy Heller  [7th Year]  170 Tolend Rd, Barrington, NH 03825   NA

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page