attack sub [Updated October 2007]  

2007 WBC Report  

  2008 Status: pending 2008 GM commitment

David Sidelinger, CT

2007 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1991    John Fuqua      33
1992    Steve Rugh      26
1993    Bruce Young      34
1994    Dave Kuchta      46
1995    Jack Reid     40
1996    John Emery   40
1997    John Emery      32
1998    Earl Anderson      32
1999     Brian Conlon     36
2000     Bill Edwards      32
2001     John Conlon      34
2002     Buck Karpowitz      24
2003     Steven Caler      24
2004     Daniel Hoffman      34
2005      Bill Edwards      30
2006     Dan Hoffman      20
2007      David Sidelinger      30


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Bill Edwards       VA    06     56
   2.  David Sidelinger   CT    07     40
   3.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    06     40
   4.  John Conlon        OK    02     33
   5.  Steve Caler        PA    03     32
   6.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    02     30
   7.  Brian Conlon       OK    05     28
   8.  Greg Courter       MI    02     24
   9.  Rob Schoenen       PA    06     20
  10.  Frank Cunliffe     PA    06     20
  11.  Rob Mull           CO    05     19
  12.  Stan Buck          MD    02     18
  13.  Henry Jones        PA    00     18
  14.  Jim Fleckenstein   VA    07     16
  15.  Jerry Smolens      PA    01     15
  16.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01     15
  17.  Bruce Young        SC    04     12
  18.  Andre Strauss      MD    03     12
  19.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    07     10
  20.  John Emery         SC    05     10
  21.  Greg Schmittgens   KS    02      9
  22.  Andy Maly          MD    00      9
  23.  Andrew Cummins     UK    07      8
  24.  Andrew Fedin       PA    04      8
  25.  James Doughan      PA    07      6
  26.  David Buchholz     MI    04      6
  27.  Chris Janiec       PA    03      6
  28.  David Gantt        SC    00      6
  29.  Carol Caler        OH    07      4
  30.  Marvin Birnbaum    NY    06      4
  31.  Nathan Trent       VA    05      4
  32.  Jeremy Billones    VA    99      4
  33.  Scott Edwards      SC    04      2
  34.  Keith Hunsinger    OH    03      2

2007 Laurelists

Jim Fleckenstein, VA

Andrew Cummins, UK

James Doughan, PA

Carol Caler, OH

Bob Heinzmann, FL

Past Winners

Bruce Young, SC

Dave Kuchta, ME

John Emery, SC

Earl Anderson, SC

Brian Conlon, OK

Bill Edwards, VA
2000, 2005

John Conlon, OK

Steve Caler, PA

Daniel Hoffman, NC
2004, 2006

David Sidelinger, CT



 Two-time ex-champ Bill Edwards observes as Mark Yoshikawa (left) and Jim Doughan get their feet wet.

 A couple veteran laurelists meet in the Final as James Fkleckenstein (left) and Dave Sidelinger decide the 2007 championship.

journeymen to the fore ...

In its second year as a legacy event, Attack Sub's attendance returned to previous levels, and even gained five brand-new skippers who had never played before.   The swiss-elim format continued this year, having been very successful last year, with three rounds of swiss play advancing eight players to single elimination. 

In Round 1 the less-favored Argentines pulled another upset in scenario D (Falklands), winning eight games to the Brit's seven. In Round 2 saw the Soviets score a minor upset over the favored Americans in scenario B (Search and Destroy), winning eight to seven, but lost decisively in the single elimination games. Only Round 3 had the favored side as the victor, with the Brits winning nine matches of scenario A (Sub Duel) to the Soviet's five.  

Four 3-0 players advanced automatically to the single elim round, tie-breakers were used to advance four of the eleven 2-1 players, a tough cut.  Kudos to Carol Caler for earning all three scenario tie-breakers, a first, and to new player Scott Kowalke for advancing. 

Players had free choice between six scenarios in single elimination, but opted for the simpler scenarios this year. Scenario B (Search and Destroy) was revisited four times, with three US wins to the Soviets one, scenario A (Sub Duel) was played twice, both Soviet wins (making up somewhat for their poor showing in the prelim rounds) and scenario D (Falklands) was played once, netting another Argentine win.

Long-time Attack Sub players Dave Sidelinger and Jim Fleckenstein finally got their due this year. Both advanced to single elimination as 2-1 players, then proceeded to win their quarter-final games against unbeatens (Carol Caler and Bob Heinzmann respectively), and their semi-final games against 4-0 players (Andrew Cummins and Jim Doughan).

In the Final, Dave selected A (Sub Duel) as the scenario and Jim picked the Brits, giving Dave the slightly weaker Soviets. The Brits got off to a good start, fixing their sensor malfunction with their first draw, then both sides began a sonar duel, both gaining minimum contact level 1 on the other. The Soviets took a quick shot with the Ivan Rogov, and a lucky hit sank the Valiant immediately. Down to one sub, the Brits aggressively went active with the Swiftsure, quickly gaining level 2 contact on the Rogov and level 3 on the Skvortsov. Without sensor cards, the Soviets closed range with the Rogov to contact 1, fired a torpedo that missed, then a second that hit, but only did one sensor and one attack damage. Wounded but still in the fight, the Swiftsure fired back at contact 4, an almost certain hit, but only drew an attack malfunction. The Rogov closed to contact 3 and in a close-range knife fight both subs exchanged torpedoes which missed, then Rogov got the final hit, sending Swiftsure to the bottom. Both skippers played boldly but luck favored the Soviets this time. Congratulations to Dave Sidelinger, the newest Attack Sub champion!

 GM      Rob Mull  [5th Year]   NA    NA

2007 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page