titan: the arena [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report   

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Olin Hentz, CT

2006 Champion

Offsite Links:


Event History
1997    Peter Staab        72
1998    Brian Sutton      178
1999    Kaarin Engelmann     115
2000    Alan Witte       97
2001    Rebecca Hebner       56
2002    Joe Sposito       45
2003    Brenden Coomes       47
2004     Devin Flawd       63
2005    Robert Kircher       79
2006     Olin Hentz       74


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Rebecca Hebner     CO    02     54
  2.  Alan Witte         NJ    00     50
  3.  Joseph Sposito     NJ    02     40
  4.  Bruce Monnin       OH    06     38
  5.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    00     35
  6.  Olin Hentz         CT    06     30
  7.  Brenden Coomes     OH    03     30
  8.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    00     30
  9.  Robert Kircher     RI    06     23
 10.  Devin Flawd        PA    04     20
 11.  Gerald Lientz      VA    03     18
 12.  Keith Levy         MD    01     18
 13.  Jerry Ohlinger     NY    99     18
 14.  Rodd Polsky        PA    02     16
 15.  Eric Gorr          VA    00     15
 16.  James Hopkin       CA    02     14
 17.  Jordan Flawd       CT    06     12
 18.  Dan Eshleman       NC    05     12
 19.  Rob Schoenen       PA    04     12
 20.  Josh Campbell      NY    03     12
 21.  Arthur Field       SC    02     12
 22.  Ken Sheffield      VA    01     12
 23.  Craig Melton       VA    99     12
 24.  Josh Githens       SC    00     10
 25.  Greg Thatcher      FL    06      9
 26.  Chris Greenfield   NY    03      9
 27.  Scott Buckwalter   MD    01      9
 28.  John Coussis       IL    99      9
 29.  Harry Flawd        PA    05      8
 30.  Abby Cocke         MD    04      8
 31.  Nick Henning       CT    06      6
 32.  Carmen Petruzelli  PA    05      6
 33.  Mark Love          MD    04      6
 34.  Rob Brode          MD    03      6
 35.  Randy Jackson      OH    99      6
 36.  Morio Taketori    JPN    05      4
 37.  Tracy Graf         MD    04      4
 38.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    02      4
 39.  Mark Mitchell      VA    03      3
 40.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01      3
 41.  Jason Ley          WA    99      3
 42.  John Poniske Jr    PA    05      2
 43.  Joe Nemet          PA    04      2

2006 Laurelists

Bruce Monnin, OH

Jordan Flawd, PA

Greg Thatcher, FL

Nick Henning, CT

Rob Kircher, RI

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Brian Sutton, MD

Kaarin Englemann, VA

Alan Witte, NJ

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Joe Sposito, NJ

Brenden Coomes, OH

Devin Flawd, PA

Robert Kircher, RI

GM Greg Crowe (left) records the Final struggle between (clockwise) Olin Hentz, Jordan Flawd, Nick Henning, Bruce Monnin and Greg Thatcher.

Always a titanic struggle ...

We had five fewer participants than last year, but it was still a good showing nonetheless. There were 22 preliminary games this year, down one from last year's 23. While the Thursday heat had an impressive ten games, Tuesday and Saturday each had but six.

The heats produced 21 separate winners, with Joanne Melton winning twice. 17 of those appeared on Sunday to play in the semi-finals along with three alternates for five 4-player games. Among the players were three past champions, none of whom returned to the Final, although defending champ Rob Kircher came close - finishing sixth. The games were pretty close, with some ending with a tied score or a 1 point difference. The Dragon managed to survive through one game with no bets, secret or otherwise, because no player liked the position of the bets on the other creatures should the Dragon die.

As the finalists (Jordan Flawd, Nick Henning, Olin Hentz, Bruce Monnin, and Greg Thatcher) sat down for the final showdown, I noted that a different Flawd has graced the Final each of the past three years, and wondered if they had another one in training for next year.

The first round was friendly, with no tears shed as the betless and therefore friendless Hydra became the first casualty. The second round was less cordial, as all the remaining creatures had been the recipients of wagers. The one that eventually succumbed was the only one without a first-round bet - the Titan - and cost Greg the first chip of the game. As Nick was the only player with two first-round bets, it didn't take the others long to decide that one of them must go, and so the Unicorn bit the dust next, also costing Bruce and Greg a chip. Possibly in retribution, Greg killed the Cyclops whose bets each belonged to one of the other players.

In the last round a timely play of the Head Referee by Olin revealed secret bets of Jordan and Greg on the Warlock. On his next turn he used his bet to reveal that he had bet on the dead Cyclops in order to convince the others that he hadn't bet on any of the other surviving creatures, which gave him leverage to aid the Warlock's demise a few plays later. Amazingly, Bruce and Nick had also secretly bet on the Cyclops, meaning Olin's nine points still on the table took the match.

For the second year in a row, an alternate managed to become champion, proving yet again it pays to check for openings. Congratulations to our 2006 Champ, Olin Hentz, and thank you all for playing. I hope to see you next year!

 Titan: The Arena Junior

In the Juniors event I was ecstatic to have no less than 18 players competing for glory. They played two 5-player and two 4-player games, and the winners would each gain a seat in the Final. Caitlin Jaeger, as the highest-scoring runner-up, also earned a shot to advance, but declined to play further.

The four finalists were: Kaleigh Jaeger, Rebecca Melton, Aurora Pack, and Joshua Weintraub. The competition was steep as all of them played very well. In the end Joshua was the only one whose secret bet (the Cyclops) had survived, but he was still unable to top Rebecca's 11-point spread despite having had her secret bet (the Dragon) die in the final round. Congratulations to Rebecca Melton, our 2006 Juniors Champ!

1st: Rebecca Melton

2nd: Aurora Pack

3rd: Joshua Weintraub

4th: Kaleigh Jaeger

5th: Erin Treadway

6th: Caitlin Jaeger

 GM     Greg Crowe  (4th year)   NA
   gregcrowe@mindspring.com   NA 

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page