pro golf [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report   

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Bruce Reiff, OH

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1994    Dave Walrath      29
1995    Bruce Reiff      45
1996    Tom Pavy      43
1997    Dave Metzger      65
1998    Kevin Wojtaszczyk      61
1999    John Coussis     71
2000    Adam Gugliemini     74
2001    Dennis Nicholson     76
2002    Terry Coleman     86
2003    Ken Gutermuth     80
2004    Devin Flawd     75
2005    Nathaniel Hoam     54
2006    Bruce Reiff     67


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    06     70
  2.  John Coussis       IL    05     38
  3.  Devin Flawd        PA    04     24
  4.  Bruce Reiff        OH    06     20
  5.  Nate Hoam          OH    05     20
  6.  Terry Coleman      BC    02     20
  7.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    01     20
  8.  Adam Gugliemini    PA    00     20
  9.  John Shaheen       MA    06     12
 10.  Chris Kamm         NY    04     12
 11.  David Metzger      NY    03     12
 12.  Jason Levine       NY    02     12
 13.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    05     10
 14.  Seth Kirchner      KY    03     10
 15.  Paul Risner        FL    02     10
 16.  Davyd Field        CA    06      8
 17.  Mark Yoshikawa     CA    04      8
 18.  George Sauer       OH    03      8
 19.  Robert Eastman     NV    02      8
 20.  Henry Richardson   VA    01      8
 18.  Bill Beckman       SC    00      8
 19.  Harry Flawd        PA    99      8
 20.  Charles Squibb     PA    05      6
 21.  Bruce Maxwell      VA    04      6
 22.  Lee Presser        NY    03      6
 23.  Jeff Mullet        OH    01      6
 24.  Kevin Brown        GA    06      4
 25.  Richard Meyer      MA    06      2
 26.  Lisa Gutermuth     TX    05      2
 27.  Ann Cornett        FL    04      2
 28.  Vincent Collura    PA    99      2

2006 Laurelists

John Shaheen, MA

Davyd Field, SC

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Kevin Brown, GA

Richard Meyer, MA

Past Winners

Dave Walrath, MA

Bruce Reiff, OH
1995, 2006

Tom Pavy, OH

Dave Metzger, VA

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

John Coussis. IL

Adam Gugliemini, PA

Dennis Nicholson, NY

Terry Coleman, BC

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Devin Flawd, PA

Nate Hoam, OH

Golfers abandoned the stadium seating of Hopewell for more conventional links - like the 19th hole at Good Spirits bar.

Fore! ... for Reiff!

Pro Golf surged in attendance to 67 participants this year, perhaps as word got out that you no longer needed to stay up until 3 AM to win the event. For the second year with the 18-hole format the event finished before 1:30 am, a more palatable result for those of us duffers who require a little more sleep than in our younger years.
After receiving their instructions, the players scattered to play their 18 holes on the 2002 version of the Augusta course and report back their scores to the clubhouse in the plush Hopewell room (as you can tell, it is a grueling event to GM). New this year was the use of golfers from 2003, 2004 and 2005, which meant there were three Ernie Els, Vijay Singhs, Phil Mickelsons and, yes, three Tiger Woods.
John Shaheen used David Toms to obtain the qualifying round lead at 9 under par, followed by Ken Gutermuth (Jay Haas) and Davyd Field (Sergio Garcia) at 7 under par. One last golfer appeared to be a lock for the last spot at six under par, until he bogeyed the last hole to drop into a three way tie for fourth place. Kevin Brown, Richard Meyer and Bruce Reiff proceeded to the first sudden death hole at Pebble Beach where Reiff's golfer, Tiger Woods, birdied the first hole to move on to the Skins game Final.
These top four players were then transported to a new course for this tournament, the Lancaster Host Golf Club, for the 12 hole Skins game. We could not get the PA system going this year, so the most Reverend Keith Hunsinger did the stroke by stroke color commentary without amplification, putting serious golf commentators to shame with his biting analysis of the remaining golfer's abilities with the giant fuzzy green dice.
As caddie Josh Githens predicted partway through the Final, the championship came down to a single die roll. The players halved the first six holes on the course, meaning the first person to win a skin would be the WBC champion. On the par 4 seventh, John Shaheen opened with a birdie. The tension built as first Ken and then Davyd failed to match his score. When Bruce approached the tee, most of the crowd was rooting for him to get the tying birdie. 
Tiger Woods came through for Bruce by booming a long, superlative drive down the center of the fairway. Bruce also rolled high so that his pitch to the green landed within four feet of the hole. Since he had hit a superlative drive, the ball was to roll one die roll closer to the hole. In typical Bruce Reiff fashion, he nonchalantly flipped the die towards the wall, where it bounced, rolled onto a corner, held there for a dramatic second, then fell over for a roll of four, thus scoring an eagle on the hole and winning all seven skins and the championship. It was also the number - four - of championship plaques he'd take home this year. So the plaque king becomes the first two-time champion of Pro Golf - eleven years after his first victory.
Three holes later John birdied the par four 10th to earn three skins and second place overall. Davyd won the dice roll off for third place and perennial bridesmaid Ken finished fourth in the foursome.
Pro Golf Scorecard:
Qualifying Round
1st    - John Shaheen
2nd   - Ken Gutermuth
        - Davyd Field
4th    - Bruce Reiff
        - Kevin Brown
        - Richard Meyer
        - Gary Schaffers
8th   - Brittany Bernard
        - Jarrett Weintraub
        - Dave Denton
        - Cindy Drozd
12th - Luke Koleszar
        - Richard Irving
        - Jason Levine
       - Scott Nerney
       - Josh Githens
17th - Paul Risner
        - Charlie Brosius
        - Bill Rohrbeck
        - Nate Hoam
        - Devin Flawd
        - Bill Alderman
        - Seth Kircher
        - Bob Menzel
       - Robert Hahn
        - Vassily Krykos
        - Mark Mitchell
        - Jennifer Drozd
        - John Reiners
30th - Charles Squibb
        - Keith Hunsinger
        - Justin Thompson
        - Mike Coomes
        - Jordan Flawd
        - Lisa Gutermuth
        - Jeff Mullet
        - Eric Brosius
        - Carrie Lewis
        - Verity Hitchings
       - Lauren Vessey
        - Arthur Field
42nd - Brendan Coomes
        - Rick Kirchner (1077
        - Peter Stein
       - Chris Palermo
       - Kaarin Engleman
        - Malinda Barnes
        - Patrick Shea
49th - ChadGormly
        - Mark Yoshikawa
       - Brian Kirchner
        - Tom Browne
53rd - Bruce Monnin
       - Brian Stone
        - Dave Gantt
        - Jeff King (
57th - George Sauer
        - Chuck Foster
        - Jim Bell
        - Robert Drozd
       - Christina Hancock
62nd - Tom Pavy
        - Anna Marie Palermo
64th - J. Gifford
65th - Dennis Nicholson
66th - Rebecca Hebner
        - Nick Henning
Sudden Death Playoff
1st - Bruce Reiff
2nd - Kevin Brown
3rd - Richard Meyer
1st - Bruce Reiff
2nd - John Shaheen
3rd - Davyd Field
4th - Ken Gutermuth

 GM      Bruce Monnin [3rd Year]   177 South Lincoln St, Minster, OH 45865   419-628-3332

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page