paydirt [updated October 2006] 

2006 WBC Report   

  2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Devin Flawd, PA

2005-06 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1993    Kurt Litscher      16
1994    Mark Potter      16
1995    Mark Potter      16
1996    Harry Flawd      19
1997    Harry Flawd      15
1998    John Ellmann      16
1999    Harry Flawd     20
2000    Harry Flawd     30
2001    Devin Flawd     20
2002     Bill O'Neal     28
2003     Harry Flawd      42
2004     Harry Flawd      38
2005     Devin Flawd      38
2006      Devin Flawd      41


Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Devin Flawd         PA    06    137
  2.  Harry Flawd         PA    05    126
  3.  Bill O'Neal         NY    02     48
  4.  Derek Landel        NJ    06     28
  5.  John Ellmann        MD    01     22
  6.  Barry Shoults       MI    05     18
  7.  Dave Buchbinder     PA    03     18
  8.  Ray Stakenas II     MI    03     18
  9.  Mike Destro         NJ    06     18
 10.  Dan Dolan Jr        NJ    05     15
 11.  Bill Place          PA    05     13
 12.  Paul O'Neil         MD    06      9
 13.  Jason Levine        NY    03      8
 14.  Andy Lewis          DE    06      6
 15.  Chad Gormly         MA    05      6
 16.  Pete Putnam         PA    04      6
 17.  Greg Barry          VA    01      6
 18.  Michael Cook        VA    01      4
 19.  John Shaheen        MA    06      3
 20.  Jeff Finkeldey      OH    04      3
 21.  Dennis Nicholson    NY    03      3
 22.  Bruno Passacantando CT    02      2
 23.  Bruce Reiff         OH    00      2

2006 Laurelists

Mike Destro, NJ

Derek Landel, NJ

Paul O'Neil, MD

Andy Lewis, DE

John Shaheen, MA

Past Winners

Kurt Litscher, WI

Mark Potter, PA

Harry Flawd, PA
'96-97, '99-00, '03-04

John Ellmann, MD

Devin Flawd, PA
2001, 2005-06

Bill O'Neal, NY

 The first (AFC) heat Had twice as many coaches as the AFC has teams as 32 squads met in the first round - two versions of each team were required.

 The lure of coaching your favorite NFL team seems to make Paydirt more popular each year as GM Harry Flawd provides updated charts for the out-of-print game.

 Mike Destro has to stand to make his call in the closing minutes of the Final as GM Harry Flawd watches son Devin successfully defend his title.

Beating the Spread ...

The Paydirt 2006 tournament saw a record crowd for Wednesday's AFC round with 32 coaches trying to make it to the big game. Using last years team charts, Andy Lewis quickly grabbed his favorite Steelers to match his jersey, Barry Shoults took the Titans he had ridden to the Super Bowl the previous year, and defending champ Devin Flawd took the NY Jets in the second round of the team draft. In the first round, only the NY Jets, Cleveland, and Jacksonville saw both teams win, while Baltimore, Denver, and Oakland could not win either of their games.

Round 2 saw regulars Devin Flawd, Andy Lewis, Steve Vance, Derek Landel, and Barry Shoults advance. Round 3 was down to eight teams. Devin's Jets whooped on Chad Gormlys' Dolphins (who had defeated Devin's dad in the first round), 33-3 to advance along with tthe Steelers, Titans, and underdog Cleveland Browns with Derek Landel at the helm. Cleveland took down Andy's Steelers, 37-28 to advance to the AFC title game, and Devin continued plowing through the field, topping Barry's Titans, 40-5. In the title game, Devin took his Jets out to a 19-0 lead, and then held on for a hard fought 28-24 victory and a return trip to the Super Bowl for the third year in a row.

The NFC heat Saturday saw 24 more coaches trying to meet the Jets in the Super Bowl and the surprising Philadelphia Eagles, led by Mike Destro, got all the way to the NFC Championship game, by defeating former champs along the way, first it was Bill O'Neal's Cardinals trying to kill the clock with 1:30 left in the game, but fumbling and turning it over with enough time for Mike to kick a FG and escape with a 19-17 victory. Then after a win over Chris Palermo's Saints, he matched up with Harry Flawds' Chicago Bears. The Bears stayed close, but could not get the lead, tying the game with a minute left with a FG after failing to score a TD deep in Eagle territory. In OT, the Eagles completed a few passes, and then booted a FG for the win. Meanwhile, Paul O'Neill's Vikings were busy topping the Packers, Cardinals, and Seahawks to make it to the title game. John Shaheen took his Seahawks to two wins before falling to Paul's Vikings, 20-6. So the stage was set for an early Sunday morning NFC Championship game, where Mike's Eagles took an early lead, kicked a FG late, and held on to top the Vikings, 17-10.

The Super Bowl was, unfortunately for Mike's Eagles, much like their real life performance, where the Eagles have lost in both attempts. Devin's Jets had just too much of a running game and stellar defense, and toyed with the Eagles, leading only 10-7 after one quarter, before tacking 10 points on in the second quarter to lead 20-7. The second half was all NY, as they got turnovers and ground the clock out, and when it was over, Devin had successfully defended his title, 33-7. Devin now has three titles and, more importantly, continued braggin' rights in the Flawd household for another year

 GM      Harry Flawd  [12th Year]   NA   717-569-7103

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page