liar's dice [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report     

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Dan Hoffman, NC

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
2003    Josh Githens     140
2004    Lucimara Martins     145
2005     Legend Dan Hoffman     132
2006    Dan Hoffman     145 


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    06     36
  2.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    05     30
  3.  Lucimara Martins   MD    04     30
  4.  Josh Githens       SC    03     30
  5.  Kathy Kilroy       PA    06     18
  6.  Doug Galullo       FL    05     18
  7.  Richard Curtin     NY    04     18
  8.  Fabio Tola         MD    03     18
  9.  Patrick Shea       VA    06     12
 10.  John Kilbride      PA    05     12
 11.  Craig Reece        FL    04     12
 12.  Gordon Rodgers     PA    03     12
 13.  Greg Thatcher      FL    06      9
 14.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    05      9
 15.  Robert Drozd       IL    04      9
 16.  Bill Place         PA    03      9
 17.  Erik Arneson       PA    06      6
 18.  Larry Lingle       PA    05      6
 19.  Abigail Cocke      MD    03      6
 20.  Devin Flawd        PA    06      3
 21.  Ashley Collinson   MD    05      3
 22.  Jeff Mullet        OH    04      3
 23.  Peter Stein        OH    03      3

2006 Laurelists

Kathy Kilroy, PA

Patrick Shea, VA

Greg Thatcher, FL

Erik Arneson, PA

Davin Flawd, PA

Past Winners

Josh Githens, SC

Lucimara Martins, MD

L. Dan Hoffman, MD

 Twas the night before Slapshot and not a creature was stirring - save for the Liar's Dice semi-finalists going at it in Round 2. Here Bruce Monnin, Alan Kaiser, Greg Thatcher and Rob Kilroy (left to right) practise their poker faces.

 GM Jason Levine (standing right). 2003 champion Josh Githens and Jessica Greenwood watch Mafioso member Ralph Gleaton, Richard Curtin and Erik Arneson (left to right) in the semi-finals. Only Arneson would advance.

Bad time to tell the truth ...

Liar's Dice continued to be a huge nightcap in it's fourth year at the WBC. 145 crazed liars came to the ballroom with hopes of becoming the ultimate champion, a 10% increase over last year. The festivities started with the traditional mass cup shake and smash to the tables.

From those 145 prevaricators, 24 fibbers emerged victorious to enter the semi-final round. Former champion Josh Githens was not so lucky this year as he couldn't make it out of the preliminaries for the second straight year. Defending champion "Legend" Dan Hoffman fared better - escaping the preliminaries ..but going down in the semi-finals. Your happy GM was eliminated in the first round by roomate Nick Anner...who lost in the semi-finals.

The Final consisted of Dan Hoffman (yes there are two of them which is why "Legend Dan" is so named and this one is not the legend), Kathy Kilroy, Erik Arneson, Greg Thatcher, Patrick Shea, and Devin Flawd. Dan started the bidding and the visage of the happy finalist's faces changed instantly to bluff mode.

The first bid went to ten stars by Greg and when Patrick called there were only nine showing so Greg lost the first die die and first blood. 29 to go. The next bid was eight stars by Dan and when Kathy called there were only seven so Dan lost the next die; 28 left. Next Erik bid seven stars and when Greg called there were only five so Erik lost a pair to become low man; 26 bones remained.

Our first exactor hit as Dan made a bid of seven stars which Kathy called, costing everyone but Dan a die; 21. Then Devin repeated the seven stars bid and when Dan called it was back-to-back exactors; 16 left. Next Devin bid five stars and when Dan called there were only four; 15 to go. It was crunch time early as the third exactor struck as Greg bid four-stars and Patrick bit; 10. Erik was the first player to reach the need for perfection having but one die left.

Next Kathy bid three stars and Erik, facing elimination called anyway so Kathy joined him on the one-die life cycle; 9 remaining. Patrick now made the first non-star bid by bidding four 5's and soon regretted it ... when Devin called he joined the one-die club; 8 dice. Patrick now made the second non-star bid with more success when his four 2's turned out to be six. Devin became the first casualty and was instantly serenaded with the now famous "Kiss Him Goodbye" song; 7.

The next round Dan worked the bid to five 1's and Kathy called with only four showing so Dan was also left with just one life remaining; 6. On the very next challenge Kathy bid three 4's and Erik called. When the cups were revealed we had our fourth exactor and Erik was relegated to 5th place; 4.. In the process of this bid Greg and Patrick both were reduced to their last die. Now it was an even battle as all four remaining players had but a single die.

Greg bid two stars and Patrick called with one showing to crown Greg with 4th place laurels; 3 to go. At this point each of the survivors knew they were going to get wood of some sort...but only the winner would receive the special Pirates Of The Caribbean dice game and go home with the real wood.

Kathy bid one star and Patrick called her bluff only to be greeted by the fifth exactor of the game and his own eviction notice; 2. Now it came down to a battle between Kathy and Dan to see who would emerge as the 2006 Liar's Dice champion.

Kathy started the bidding with a star which was a big mistake. Dan upped the ante by bidding two-2's. She called and when the cups were revealed Kathy had a star and Dan had a 2. Kathy picked the wrong time to tell the truth. Dan became the champion with one die remaining. He became the second Dan Hoffman in a row to win the tournament and he also became the fourth different player in as many years to win it all. It was another "Legendary" victory and now we crown him "New Legend" Dan Hoffman.

I look forward to seeing everyone next year for another exciting Friday night session!

Liar's Dice Junior

21 little liars ... er exaggerators, participated in the Juniors version with April Gardner being the best truth stretcher, and taking home the wood. More importantly, everyone had a great time shaking the dice cups and making noise. Other finalists included:

2nd: Aurora Pack

3rd: Ben Gardner

4th: Erin Treadway

5th: Jonathan Barry

6th: Rebecca Melton

 GM      Jason Levine  [4th Year]   NA
   NA   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page