Galaxy [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report  

 2007 Status: pending December Membership Vote

Dan Eshleman, NC

2006 Champion:

Offsite links:


Event History
2000    James Pei     96
2001    Steve Cameron     87
2002     Jon Shambeda     75
2003    Rob Winslow     60
2004     Joseph Burch     58
2005    Sean McCulloch     48 
2006    Dan Eshleman     43


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Rob Winslow        NY    06     60
  2.  Jon Shambeda       PA    02     58
  3.  Sean McCulloch     OH    05     42
  4.  Steve Cameron      PA    06     37
  5.  Joseph Burch       MD    05     36
  6.  David Buchholz     MI    02     36
  7.  Steve Shambeda     PA    02     32
  8.  James Pei          TX    00     30
  9.  Joel Tamburo       IL    04     27
 10.  Martin Sample      NH    06     26
 11.  John Keating       IL    04     24
 12.  Dan Eshleman       NC    06     20
 13.  Jed Shambeda       PA    06     20
 14.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01     18
 15.  Mark Mitchell      VA    06     12
 16.  Brendan Crowe      VA    00     12
 17.  Phil White         MD    05      9
 18.  Andres Dunn        MD    04      9
 19.  Jon Miller         DC    00      6
 20.  Bill Place         PA    02      4
 21.  William Burch      MD    04      3
 22.  Rick Young         NC    03      3
 23.  Anthony Musella    VA    01      3
 24.  John Ellsworth     IL    00      3

2006 Laurelists

Mark Mitchell, VA

Martin Sample, NH

Rob Winslow, NY

Steve Cameron, PA

Jed Shambeda, PA

Past Winners

James Pei, TX

Steve Cameron, PA

Jon Shambeda, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Joe Burch, MD

Sean McCulloch, OH

 Rebecca Hebner, one of only four ladies in the event, holds her own against Steve Cameron, John Kilbride and Mark Mitchell in the Semi-Finals.

 Attendance has declined for Galaxy every year since its introduction seven years ago. The Titan Arena sequel finally fell out of the Century this year to be replaced by newer games.

War of the Worlds 21st Century Style ...

This year's version of the Galaxy tournament provided something that I had not seen before. Actually, there were TWO outstanding events, that occurred in the same heat, and they were both achieved by the same player. Rob Winslow managed to keep the E-Cup world alive throughout the game even though he was the only player with a base on it, and none of the others had it as their secret base! For good measure, while doing that, Rob managed to be the only player to eliminate ALL five worlds! It is for that reason alone that I saved myself the trouble of counting up all the results of how many worlds each player killed in the tournament, and decided to give Rob the coveted Ender Award for this year. Needless to say, that by accomplishing those two tasks, Rob won his heat, and that skill was enough to carry him on to the Final. As a side note to this, Joel Tamburo came close by eliminating four worlds, but Jed Shambeda snagged the last kill by eliminating the Divergence in the last round. Unfortunately, for Joel, all those kills did not allow him to win his heat. In another heat, the total number of points scored by the five players was 55! That's an average of more than 10 points per player. I don't know if that's a record, but I will keep an eye on that in future WBC tournaments.

As for the choices this year for the most eliminated race, there was really no standout with the proverbial bullseye. The Myrmidon were eliminated 13 times, the Erithrizonian 12 and the Imperial, Divergence and Felowi were all chosen for destruction 11 times each. The odd thing about the Erithrizonians dying so often is that hey were chosen most often as a secret base.

 The Final had to be a four player game, but proved to be an exciting event that featured familiar faces that have been a consistent part of past WBC tournaments. There was only one past champion (Rob Winslow among the finalists. In the end, it was a close finish, and all four had a chance to win until the final round. But, it was Dan who came out on top. Dan is a very skilled Galaxy player and has been in the running at several past WBC tournaments, so it was only a matter of time before he could take home his first wood in this event. Congratulations Dan!

 GM      Mark Mitchell  [2nd Year]   NA    NA  

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page