formula de [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report  

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Jason Levine, NY

2005-06 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
2000    Keith Levy     65
2001    Roderick Lee     80
2002    Barry Smith     58
2003    Steven May     50
2004     James Kendrick     52
2005     Jason Levine     63
2006    Jason Levine     62


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Barry Smith        NY    05     89
  2.  Jason Levine       NY    06     60
  3.  Lance Fogel        PA    02     42
  4.  Robert Kircher     MA    02     38
  5.  Roderick Lee       CA    06     36
  6.  James Kendrick     UK    04     30
  7.  Steve May          MD    03     30
  8.  Keith Levy         MD    00     30
  9.  Rob Runnicles      FL    06     24
 10.  Joe Sposito        NJ    04     18
 11.  Ilan Woll          CT    03     18
 12.  Matt Muir          MD    00     18
 13.  Steve Field        IL    02     15
 14.  Brad Johnson       IL    02     13
 15.  Doug Galullo       FL    06     12
 16.  Rich Shipley       MD    05     12
 17.  Steve Cameron      PA    04     12
 18.  Stan Buck          MD    00     12
 19.  William Kendrick   UK    06      9
 20.  Jessica Finkeldey  MD    05      9
 21.  Paul Murphy        UT    03      9
 22.  Bill Dyer          IL    01      9
 23.  Jim Rochford       IL    00      9
 24.  Mark Mitchell      VA    03      8
 25.  Lance Fogel        PA    05      6
 26.  Nick Henning       CT    04      6
 27.  David Wong         NJ    01      6
 28.  Joe Wetherall      PA    00      6
 29.  Chris Hancock      NH    06      3
 30.  Jim Castonguay     PA    05      3
 31.  Eric Lenhart       PA    04      3
 32.  Eric Eshleman      PA    00      3

2006 Laurelists

Bob Runnicles, FL

Doug Galullo, FL

William Kendrick, UK

Roderick Lee, CA

Chris Hancock, NH

Past Winners

Keith Levy, MD

Roderick Lee, CA

Barry Smith, NY

Steven May, MD

James Kendrick, UK

Jason Levine, NY

 Eleven three-lap preliminary races such as this one of the multi-faced dice game were held during two heats to qualify for the ten-player Final on Saturday evening.

 Finalists (left to right) Doug Galullo, William Kendrick, Robert Hahn, Jason Levine, Roderick Lee and Dave Rohde gather around the Brazil track.


Formula De continued its strong tournament appeal in 2006 with 62 racers competing in two heats. 11 preliminary races were run, including Spa, Portland, Melbourne, Netherlands #1 and #2, Portugal, Long Beach, Australia and Brazil. FDE has become a veteran event, and perhaps for this reason no one was present for the demo. Any inexperienced players certainly did not hold back the veterans, as no heats ran overtime.

Despite the perception that FDE favors those who roll the best dice, the Final once again featured many former champions and laurelists. Using the new standard MESE ranking system, finalists started in the following order: 1, William Kendrick; 2, Bob Runnicles; 3, defending champ Jason Levine; 4, David Rohde; 5, Paul Murphy; 6, Doug Galullo; 7, 2001 champ Roderick Lee; 8, Tom Vickery; 9, Robert Hahn; and 10, Chris Hancock, who rounded out the field as an alternate.

Brazil was chosen as the track, as it is fast and challenging. The race started uneventfully, with Levine pulling out to an early lead. Halfway around lap 1, Runnicles' car lost an engine point, leaving a road hazard in its wake. Vickery's car lost its last suspension point running over this hazard, and he became the first casualty. Murphy was next to go; his car suffering a blown engine early on lap 2. Hahn crashed on the tough "S" curve on lap 2. As a sign of the high skill of the finalists, his was the only car lost in a crash, despite the high speeds typical of this track. And in a first, Rohde's car lost its last engine point just as he was entering the pit. The GM ruled that since destruction occurs at the end of the car's move, and repair occurs after the move, there was no chance to repair the car in the pit.

Meanwhile, Levine's early lead evaporated, and it became a three-car race between he, Runnicles and Galullo. The latter two fell back late in the third lap, and Levine became the first player to repeat as FDE champion. Runnicles and Galullo took the second- and third-place plaques, respectively, while Kendrick, Lee, and Hancock in that order rounded out the laurelists.

 GM      Dave Bohnenberger [4th Year]  1560 Parklane Rd, Swarthmore, PA 19081   610-541-0712

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page