dune [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report     

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Anne Marie Dilworth, NY

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1992    Paul Saunders      12
1993    Ray Carpenter      23
1994    Paul Weintraub      22
1995    James Garvey      23
1996    Bruce Bernard      22
1997    Matt Fagan      28
1998    Brad Johnson      43
1999    Steve Koehler     38
2000    Jay Schlaffer     35
2001    Tony Burke     29
2002    Steve Koehler     33
2003    Bill Dyer     34
2004     Andrew Clark     33
2005     Phil Barcafer     25
2006     Anne Marie Dilworth     33


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bill Dyer          IL    05     90
  2.  Steve Koehler      NC    02     70
  3.  Phil Barcafer      PA    05     63
  4.  Joe Abrams         CT    03     52
  5.  Andrew Clark       AZ    04     40
  6.  Jay Schlaffer      DC    00     40
  7.  Anne Marie Dilworh NY    06     30
  8.  Tony Burke         NJ    01     30
  9.  Glenn McMaster     ON    05     28
  9.  Chris Bodkin       NY    03     26
 10.  Joe Harrison       KY    06     25
 11.  JeanFrancois Gagne QC    05     25
 12.  Peter Stephanouk   PA    02     24
 13.  Brad Johnson       IL    00     24
 14.  Brian Jones        NC    05     21
 15.  Benoit Groulx      QC    06     18
 16.  Ken Keller         AZ    99     18
 17.  Steve Cuccaro      MD    02     16
 18.  Stephane Dorais    QC    06     12
 19.  Paul Saunders      VA    00     12
 20.  Matt Fagan         NJ    06     10
 21.  Ray Carpenter      CT    99      9
 22.  Jeff Cornett       FL    04      8
 23.  James Hopkin       CA    02      8
 24.  Bruce Bernard      PA    00      8
 25.  Joel Tamburo       IL    06      6
 26.  Chip Collins       TX    01      6
 27.  Jeff Clark         AZ    99      6
 28.  Kevin Sudy         VA    05      3

2006 Laurelists

Benoit Groulx, QC

Stephane Dorais, QC

Joe Harrison, KY

Joel Tamburo, IL

Matt Fagan, NJ

Past Winners

Paul Saunders, VA

Ray Carpenter, CT

Paul Weintraub, MD

James Garvey, NY

Bruce Bernard, PA

Matt Fagan, NJ

Brad Johnson, IL

Steve Koehler, NC
1999, 2002


Jay Schlaffer, NJ

Tony Burke, NJ

Bill Dyer, IL

Andrew Clark, AZ

Phil Barcafer, PA

The Spice of Life

Concerns about the popularity of Dune were unfounded, as we rebounded back to normal attendance levels with an influx of players new to the tournament. We again played nine qualification games, this time with a mean duration of 7.1 game turns in 3.7 hours.

Almost all of the games were won by alliances, but with a big change in the balance of power: The Fremen, long considered the Faction Least Likely to Succeed, leapt from the bottom to the top with three wins out of seven games, including one default victory and the single best faction performance on record! The BG followed with five victories in nine games, but almost all as the "weak sister" (pun intended) in 3-player alliances. The Guild, another perennial underdog, also made a good showing with four wins, including the only solo victory this year. The other victories were evenly spread among the Atreides, Emperor, and the Harkonnen (taking a significant tumble from their usual spot as most winning faction). Ironically, we had been considering the introduction of house rules this year to help improve the Fremen's chance of winning - good thing we didn't change anything just yet!

Best Faction plaques were awarded to the players who gave the best single-game performance with each faction during the preliminary heats, measured in terms of strongholds controlled per turn. Bill Dyer received Best Atreides; Matt Fagan, Best BG; Stephane Dorais, Best Emperor; Joe Harrison, Best Guild; Joe Abrams, Best Harkonnen; and newcomer Athena Padouvas took home Best Fremen.

Five of the six finalists were new to the WBC Dune final: long-time players and Quebecois compatriots Stephane Dorais and Benoit Groulx both found their way to the Final, drawing Atreides and Bene Gesserit respectively. Joel Tamburo got a chance to replay the Guild after parlaying his Guild solo default victory to a seat at the final table. Joe Harrison played the Harkonnen, and Matt Fagan, the only plater with formal Final experience, played the Emperor. The last chair was filled by our first alternate and fresh face at the tournament, Anne Marie Dilworth, who drew the Fremen.

The early game was fairly stable, with the Atreides and Harkonnen retaining control of Arrakeen and Carthag respectively, the Emperor making a fairly typical landing in Habbanya Ridge Sietch, and the Atreides ejecting the Guild from Tuek's Sietch. The Fremen began the game with control of Sietch Tabr and held it for the entire length of the game! In Turn 4, the Atreides made a move for the win by taking H.R.S. from the Emperor, but by doing so, they were unable to defend Arrakeen from the Guild. By Turn 6, the Atreides had been forced off of Arrakis entirely, and control of H.R.S. had changed twice more, leaving only three strongholds occupied. After this the Shield Wall came into play as the sixth stronghold, and by Turn 9, the Fremen, allied with the Guild, controlled three strongholds single-handedly! Finally, in Turn 10, a key Nexus arrived and the Fremen switched their alliance from the Guild to the BG, securing the victory.

Congratulations to all, especially our new champion, Anne Marie Dilworth. It was especially gratifying for me to see so many new players join us, bringing with them a new energy and some fresh ideas on how to play and win the great game of Dune.

 GM      Brad Johnson  [6th Year]   1517 Driftwood Ln, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
    tempus42@sbcglobal.net   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page