battleline [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report  

  2007 Status: pending December Membership Vote

Thomas Browne, PA

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
2001    Peter Staab     54
2002    Kevin Youells     36
2003    Ken Gutermuth     44
2004     Arthur Field     44
2005     Arthur Field     48 
2006     Thomas Browne     52


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Arthur Field       SC    05     40
  2.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    06     38
  3.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    05     36
  4.  Kevin Yuells       FL    02     30
  5.  Peter Staab        PA    01     30
  6.  Sean McCulloch     OH    05     22
  7.  Thomas Browne      PA    06     20
  8.  Barrington Beavis  UK    03     18
  9.  Jonathan Miller    DC    02     18
 10.  John Leggat        CA    01     18
 11.  Bruce Reiff        OH    03     15
 12.  James Tyne         NJ    06     12
 13.  Mike Nagel         NJ    05     12
 14.  Andrew Cummins     UK    01     12
 15.  Cliff Ackman       PA    01      9
 16.  Keith Schoose      CA    05      8
 17.  Jason Levine       NY    04      8
 18.  Andy Latto         MA    06      6
 19.  Richard Irving     CA    04      6
 20.  Carol Caler        PA    03      6
 21.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01      6
 22.  Alan Kaiser        OH    06      4
 23.  Stuart Tucker      MD    04      4
 24.  Lance Fogel        PA    03      3
 25.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01      3
 26.  Mike Stanley       OH    06      2
 27.  Tom Powell-Bullock OH    05      2
 28.  Laurie Wojtaszcyk  NY    04      2

2006 Laurelists

James Tyne, NJ

Aaron Fuegi, MA

Andy Latto, MA

Alan Kaiser, OH

Mike Stanley, OH

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Kevin Youells, FL

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Arthur Field, SC
2004, 2005

 Andy Latto (right) en route to a 3-0 record in the preliminary round.

 Chris Palermo (right) advances over Dave Gantt in Round 1.

 Kate Taillon was one of five ladies entered. Only one advanced out of pool play.

Five New Laurelists

Once again we ended up with a divisible-by-four number of players so everyone was quickly and randomly (unless former champs, family or teammates ended up together) assigned to 13 groups of four for pool play. The assignments ended up with a couple of interesting matchups. 
In group 1 Chris Palermo (2-1) advanced to single elimination play for the second year in a row and, this year, he decided to stay. Group 2 had former champ Kevin Youells going undefeated to advance. In group 3 your GM want 3-0 with the final game coming down to the wire over previous champ Pete Staab. I was going to lose except for the breakthrough. Aaron Fuegi (2-1) won his group (4) on a tie breaker.
In group 5 Richard Irving dominated with a 3-0 finish but elected not to advance to single elimination play. Greg Kulp won group 6 with an undefeated record. Andy Latto defeated Manly Man David Meztger to advance (3-0) out of group 7. Tom (ask me again and I'll knock you down) Browne went 3-0 to advance from group 8. 
Group 9 featured a rematch of the 2004 Final but this time Arthur Field was defeated by Cabbie Sean "The Hammer" McCulloch who won the group by going 3-0. Two Cabbies ­ Bud Sauer and James Tyne battled it out in group 10 with James advancing at 3-0. Group 11 was dubbed the "battle of the board" when Kaarin Engleman advanced at 2-1 over former champ Ken Gutermuth on tiebreakers. 
In group 12 Cabbie Mike Stanley won two games 5-4 en route to going undefeated on his way to the single elim portion. And finally Cabbie Alan Kaiser 'Wilhelm' went 3-0 to put four current Cabbies into the single elim portion. A full 1/3rd chance that a Cabbie would win the plaque. Not looking good for Caabbie chances, is it?
The single elim portion of the event was seeded with the 2-1 players unable to play each other and the following pairings were set: Aaron Fuegi defeated Bruce Reiff (for my 4th straight year of going 3-0 in pool play and then falling in the first playoff round), former champ Kevin Youells losing to Mike Stanley 'Tools'. Alan Kaiser defeated Chris Palermo to put two Cabbies through to the second round. Former Cabbie James Tyne defeated current Cabbie Sean McCulloch to advance. Tom Browne defeated Kaarin Engleman and Andy Latto took out Greg Kulp.
In the second round Fuegi defeated Stanly, Tyne ended Cabbie hopes everywhere by knocking out Kaiser and Browne defeated Latto. Since all former champs were out and only Tyne and Browne were undefeated, they flipped for the bye with Browne calling it correctly. Tyne then defeated Fuegi to set up the Tyne-Browne Final. 
"Tyne scored a phalanx of natural 10s and on the next turn Browne did the same. In another battle Browne completed a 5 high wedge. Tyne 'redeployed' a 6 to make an 8 high wedge. Browne responded by having the 7 'desert' but to no avail as Darius came to the rescue letting Tyne claim the flag. 
In the pivotal battle (iwith the score 4-4 ), Browne started a skirmish line against Tynes two cards of a phalanx 6's from which the 6 was redeployed allowing Tyne to build a stronger skirmish line. The 'fog' rolled in from Browne's side to hide some chariots (9) which then got stuck in the 'mud' swamp on Tyne's' field which protected his chariots. Fortunately for Browne, 'Alexander' rode to the front to rally the troops for a 26-24 victory giving him a 5-4 victory and the plaque!

 GM      Bruce Reiff  [3rd Year]  NA   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page