attack sub [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report  

  2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Dan Hoffman, NC

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1991    John Fuqua      33
1992    Steve Rugh      26
1993    Bruce Young      34
1994    Dave Kuchta      46
1995    Jack Reid     40
1996    John Emery   40
1997    John Emery      32
1998    Earl Anderson      32
1999     Brian Conlon     36
2000     Bill Edwards      32
2001     John Conlon      34
2002     Ed Karpowicz      24
2003     Steven Caler      24
2004     Daniel Hoffman      34
2005      Bill Edwards      30
2006     Dan Hoffman      20


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Bill Edwards       VA    06     56
   2.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    06     40
   3.  John Conlon        OK    02     33
   4.  Steve Caler        PA    03     32
   5.  Ed Karpowicz       DC    02     30
   6.  Brian Conlon       OK    05     28
   7.  Greg Courter       MI    02     24
   8.  Rob Schoenen       PA    06     20
   9.  Frank Cunliffe     PA    06     20
  10.  David Sidelinger   CT    02     20
  11.  Rob Mull           CO    05     19
  12.  Stan Buck          MD    02     18
  13.  Henry Jones        PA    00     18
  14.  Jerry Smolens      PA    01     15
  15.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01     15
  16.  Bruce Young        SC    04     12
  17.  Andre Strauss      MD    03     12
  18.  John Emery         SC    05     10
  19.  Greg Schmittgens   KS    02      9
  20.  Andy Maly          MD    00      9
  21.  Andrew Fedin       PA    04      8
  22.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    03      8
  23.  David Buchholz     MI    04      6
  24.  Chris Janiec       PA    03      6
  25.  David Gantt        SC    00      6
  26.  Marvin Birnbaum    NY    06      4
  27.  Jim Fleckenstein   VA    06      4
  28.  Nathan Trent       VA    05      4
  29.  Jeremy Billones    VA    99      4
  30.  Scott Edwards      SC    04      2
  31.  Keith Hunsinger    OH    03      2

2006 Laurelists

Frank Cunliffe, PA

Rob Schoenen, PA

Bill Edwards, VA

Marvin Birnbaum, NY

Jim Fleckenstein, VA

Past Winners

'91: John Fuqua, MI
'92: Steve Rugh, CT
'95: Jack Reid, PA

Bruce Young, SC

Dave Kuchta, ME

John Emery, SC

Earl Anderson, SC

Brian Conlon, OK

Bill Edwards, VA
2000, 2005

John Conlon, OK

Buck Karpowicz, DC

Steve Caler, PA

Daniel Hoffman, NC
2004, 2006

run silent, run deep ... well, quiet at least

The smallest contingent of sub skippers ever turned out for the first year of Attack Sub's legacy status to try their luck in this traditional end-of-con event. It used a swiss-elim format, with three rounds of swiss play advancing eight to single elimination. The three swiss rounds used predesignated scenarios, with a tie-breaker earned each time a player won with the less favored side. In Round 1, the less favored Argentines pulled an upset in scenario D (Falklands), winning six games to the Brit's four. Results for Rounds 2 and 3 had a more predictable outcome for the favored side, with the US winning six matches of scenario B (Search and Destroy) to the Soviet's four, and the Brits winning five matches of scenario A (Sub Duel) to the Soviet's four.  

Three 3-0 players advanced automatically to the single elim round, tie-breakers were used (going down as far as the fourth tie-breaker, strength of schedule) to advance five of the seven 2-1 players.

Players had free choice of scenarios in single elimination, scenarios A and D were revisited twice each (the Brits winning both times in A and the Brits and Argentines splitting wins in D), and scenario E (Renegade) was played three times (two wins for the surface force and one for the Renegade boomer).

The Renegade scenario featured prominently in determining the champion. In his quarter-final match, Frank Cunliffe played the surface force to defeat Bruce Young's Renegade. Frank then went on to defeat defending champion Bill Edwards in the semi-finals, Bill couldn't hold off Frank's Argentines in scenario D. In the other semi-final match, previous champion Daniel Hoffman's Renegade defeated Rob Schoenen's surface force, successfully launching missiles as soon as he reached the second deck.

For the Final, Daniel selected E as the scenario and Frank picked the Renegade, both players were now playing opposite the side with which they had won previously. Frank started aggressively as the Renegade, using active sonar repeatedly, hoping to find and sink some of the surface force while waiting for the second deck and the chance to launch missiles. After gaining contact levels 2 and 3 on the two surface ships, the Renegade fired multiple torpedoes but all missed. Meanwhile Daniel was able to bring in his surface reinforcement almost immediately, and used active sonar himself to find and gain level 2 contact on the Renegade. The surface force fired three times in a row, with a miss, a hit only damaging the Renegade, and a hit which sank it. World War III was averted as the Renegade went down without even getting out of the first deck. 

Congratulations to Daniel Hoffman who becomes the third two-time champion of Attack Sub!

 GM      Rob Mull  [4th Year]   NA    NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page