1776 [Updated October 2006] 

2006 WBC Report  

 2006 Status: pending December Membership Vote

Steve Packwood, MN

2003-06 Champion

Offsite links:



Event History
1993    Mark Miklos

1994    Steve Packwood

1995    Steve Packwood

1996    Rod Coffey

1997    Steve Packwood

1998    Rob Beyma

1999    Steve Packwood

2000    Steve Packwood

2001    Steve Packwood

2002    Rob Beyma

2003    Steve Packwood     10
2004    Steve Packwood     15
2005    Steve Packwood     18
2006    Steve Packwood     11

PBeM Event History
2003    Jan Orband     20


  Rank Name             From  Year Total  
   1.  Steve Packwood    MN    06   112  
   2.  Robert Frisby     VA    06    43  
   3.  Jan Orband     Belgium  03    30  
   4.  Rob Beyma         MD    04    29  
   5.  David Dockter     MN    05    27  
   6.  Matt Burkins      MD    05    22  
   7.  Rod Coffey        GA    06    27  
   8.  Doug Pratto       MA    03    18  
   9.  John Barrett      MN    05    12  
  10.  Stan Buck         MD    03    12  
  11.  Dave Metzger      NY    02    10  
  12.  Jim Engler        MD    03     9  
  13.  Mike Sincavage    VA    02     9  
  14.  Jim Lawler        NY    02     8  
  15.  Stu Bieber        WI    03     6  
  16.  Bruno Sinigaglio  AK    00     6  
  17.  Brad Frisby       MD    99     6  
  18.  Greg Tanner       AZ    06     4  
  19.  Chuck Leonard     PA    00     4  
  20.  Dale Long         NJ    06     3  
  21.  Phil Rennert      MD    05     3  
  22.  Bob Jamelli       PA    03     2  

2006 Laurelists

Rod Coffey, MD

Greg Tanner, AZ

Dale Long, NJ

Robert Frisby, VA

Past Winners

Mark Miklos, GA

Steve Packwood, MN
94-95, 97, 99-01, 03-06

Rod Coffey, VA

Rob Beyma, MD
1998, 2002

 Bob Jamelli (left) tests WBC's first ten-time champ.

 GM Matt Burkins (right) in opening round action.

 Steve Packwood (left) on the way to his tenth 1776 title.

Will the members vote to save it again? ...

1776 was unable to duplicate its attendance zenith of last year and fell to a mere 11 players. The format remained the first nine months of the Campaign Game with all optional rules except hidden and decoy counters. The players bid the number of strategic towns (out of a total of 24, including Montreal and Quebec) that the British player must control on the last turn. Bidding has crept up to 14-15 towns with victory often decided by a single town.

The field included a number of new faces, as well as two previous champions: Rod Coffey and Steve Packwood. Greg Tanner, in his first WBC, lost in the mulligan round but rebounded in the first and second rounds to obtain a place in the semi-finals. Unfortunately, his American forces, through overly cautious play in the South Central region, were unable to deny Rod Coffey's well-orchestrated offensive the 14 towns Rod needed to win.

The final game saw 1996 champion Rod Coffey bid 15 towns to play the Redcoats versus nine-time champ Steve Packwood, who had initially bid 14. During the first quarter, the British moved 3BR from Boston into the South. The British also managed to destroy the Continental Navy and removed this possible threat to unescorted transport fleets. The Americans pulled 4CA from the forces at Boston and entrenched them outside New York. The purpose of this move became clear during the Spring interphase when the Americans occupied every strategic town in the Middle States except New York, thereby trapping the 4TM that the British had to bring in there. However, this weakened the American forces at Ticonderoga, where a forced march by TM and Indians captured a supply after destroying an escorting CA and supply unit.

In the next quarter, the British moved 1BR to Halifax in order to bring in reinforcements there. The reinforcements then got moved by sea to threaten more strategic towns. In the second interphase, the British had inadvertently neglected to occupy a strategic town in the Deep South and had an insufficient garrison in Boston, which allowed the Americans extra supply units in the Deep South and New England. In the last quarter, the British moved strong forces into the South Central area from the Middle States and from the sea, while the Americans tried to remain centrally positioned. The final British reinforcements landed at Charleston and fanned out through the Deep South. In the final turn, the British controlled 17 strategic towns (South Central, Deep South, plus six other towns). The Americans tried four forced marches, only one of which worked, that liberated one strategic town in a 3:1 attack. The Americans overran a screening unit in the South Central area, thereby allowing a daring bateau raid that liberated Norfolk, as well. American forces also captured Newport, thus denying the British the 15 towns needed for victory and giving Steve Packwood his 10th Centurion laurels.


Jan Orband of Belgium faced Doug Pratto of Massachusetts for the first ever BPA 1776 PBeM championship using the first nine months of the campaign game and the Boardgamer's Guide leader rules. Doug bid 13 towns to play the British in an exciting, but relatively bloodless, game of maneuver and counter-maneuver. Both players showed a superb grasp of using troops and terrain to block their opponent. Small, well placed British forces impeded American reinforcements to Charleston in March. In May, after Charleston fell, small American forces then impeded British expansion out of the city. The British maintained a few BRs aboard ships at all times, thereby forcing the American to spread his forces thin in order to counter this constant threat to his coastal towns. By August, the American had formed four main blocking forces: Greene in Albany, Arnold in New England, Lincoln in South Carolina, and Washington in Virginia. Although the British player controlled the 13 towns he needed for victory at the end of his September turn, the wily American found a back door into Alexandria and overran the British garrison. Coupled with seizing Newport, Jan Orband reduced the British to 11 victory towns and became the champion.

Others earning laurels in the 20-player event were:

2nd: Doug Pratto, MA
3rd: Stan Buck, MD
4th: Jim Engler, MD
5th: Stu Bieber, WI
6th: Rod Coffey, GA

 GM      Matthew Burkins  [7th Year]   2917 Smithson Dr, Forest Hill, MD 21050-1901
    mattburkins@aol.com   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page