waterloo [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report     

  2006 Status: pending December Membership Century Vote 

Marty Musella, VA

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
1991    Kevin McCarthy      17
1992    Rob Beyma      16
1993    Larry Lingle      16
1994    Joe Beard      18
1995    Joe Beard      10
1996    Bruno Sinigaglio      10
1997    Phil Evans      18
1998    Rob Beyma      16
1999    Chuch Stapp     17
2000    Rob Beyma     10
2001    John Clarke     18
2002    Rob Beyma     20
2003    Marty Musella     20
2004     Rob Beyma     17


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Rob Beyma          MD    04    114
  2.  Marty Musella      VA    04     86
  3.  John Clarke        FL    04     52
  4.  Chuck Stapp        NJ    01     31
  5.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    05     27
  6.  Mark Gutfreund     KY    04     18
  7.  Forrest Pafenberg  VA    02     18
  8.  Bill Scott         VA    05     16
  9.  Bill Morse         VA    05     12
 10.  Tim Miller         GA    04     12
 11.  Larry Lingle       PA    00     12
 12.  John Ellsworth     IL    99      9
 13.  Gary Dickson       CA    05      8
 14.  Johnny Hasay       PA    01      8
 15.  Steve Likevich     OH    05      6
 16.  Ivan Lawson        MD    02      6
 17.  Greg Smith         PA    02      3
 18.  Pat Mirk           FL    01      3
 19.  James Tracy        NB    99      3

2005 Laurelists

Bill Morse, VA

Gary Dickson, CA

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Bill Scott, VA

Steve Likevich, OH

Past Winners

Kevin McCarthy. OH

Rob Beyma, MD
'92, '98, '00, '02, '04

Larry Lingle, PA

Joe Beard, AZ

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Phil Evans, VA

Chuck Stapp, PA

John Clarke, FL

Marty Musella, VA

Another Grognard Classic

This classic warhorse continued on its path of revitalization in 2005 with the return of 18 dedicated players who pushed pieces between Quatre Bras and Mont St. Jean. Eight of these players were returning to this contest of maneuver after more than two decades of inactivity with two of those playing in the semifinals.

Highlighting this year was the addition of the 10-sided combat results table (CRT) that reduced the dreaded "A elim" in a 2 to 1 attack to 10% probability. Many aggressive players chose the French to capitalize on the CRT and greatly reduced play time. Play balance saw ten PAA and nine French victories. The free form play format provided players latitude in scheduling with Gary Dickson, Bill Morse, Marty Musella, and Bruno Sinigaglio as semifinalists.

In the first semifinal game Bill's French launched a simultaneous assault on Bruno's PAA defending the heights south and east of Quatre Bras. Bill rolled well eliminating Bruno's 8-4 accompanied by two more D elims. Bruno, sensing an imminent PAA collapse made several unsuccessful 1 to 1 attacks, manfully attempting to stave off defeat, but the French superiority caused Bruno's Wellington to flee late on the 16th.

In the second semifinal game, Gary's French tried the more traditional game of maneuver. A French force quickly crossed the Dyle River while the rest of the French assaulted Quatre Bras. Here Marty launched a series of PAA counterattacks while PAA reinforcements eventually eliminated Gary's maneuver force near the LaLasne River. Fighting raged throughout 17 June as Marty slowly withdrew awaiting the Prussian IV Corps. Gary's valiant French attempts to regain superiority with low odds attacks mostly failed so he bid Napoleon adieu late on 18 June.

In the championship game, Bill's French tried to repeat his successful pincer attack on Quatre Bras. These attacks were not as successful as his previous attempt and Marty's PAA conducted counterattacks throughout 17 June slowly withdrawing to doubled positions. With no sizeable French forces maneuvering on either wing, the PAA and French slugged it out for several turns. Bill's Old Guard could not snare the victory and as the Prussians entered the field of battle, he sent Napoleon packing.

Early intelligence reports indicate that more former players have vowed to return next year, so if you liked Waterloo when you were young, rekindle your love for this classic in 2006.

 GM      Marty Musella  [1st Year]   NA 
    NA   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page