vinci [Updated October 2005]  

 2005 WBC Report  

 2006 Status: pending 2006 GM commitment

Joe Pabis, VA

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
2000    Jason Levine     36
2001    John Charbonneau     32
2002    Bob Heinzmann     34
2003    Mark Neale     29
2004    Jimmy Fleckenstein     36
2005    Joe Pabis     38


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Joe Pabis          VA    05     51
  2.  John Charbonneau   NH    01     40
  3.  Jason Levine       NY    03     36
  4.  Jimmy Fleckenstein VA    04     30
  5.  Mark Neale         RI    03     30
  6.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    02     30
  7.  Brian Carr         VA    05     27
  8.  Brandon Bernard    PA    04     27
  9.  Keith Layton       NJ    01     24
 10.  Bruce Bernard      PA    05     21
 11.  Mark Pitcavage     OH    05     21
 12.  Alan Kaiser        OH    05     18
 13.  Henry Rice         NM    01     16
 14.  Jim Castonguay     PA    04     12
 15.  Gary Carr          VA    03     12
 16.  Sean Vessey        PA    02     12
 17.  Frank Cunliffe     PA    01     12
 18.  Chris McDermott    NY    00     12
 19.  Gordon Elgart      CA    02      9
 20.  Daniel Karp        MD    00      9
 21.  Paul Skrabut       FL    01      8
 22.  Ben Foy            MD    05      6
 23.  Roderick Lee       CA    04      6
 24.  Paul Murphy        UT    02      6
 25.  Roy Gibson         MD    00      6
 26.  Frank Schmitt      NJ    01      4
 27.  Jason Robar        WA    03      3
 28.  Jim Reasoner       OH    02      3
 29.  Robert Hooper      NJ    00      3

2005 Laurelists

Alan Kaiser, OH

Bruce Bernard, OH

Brian Carr, VA

Ben Foy, MD

Mark Pitcavage, OH

Past Winners

Jason Levine, NY

John Charbonneau, NH

Bob Heinzmann, FL

Mark Neale, RI

Jimmy Fleckenstein, VA

Renaissance in half the time

38 players entered to play 13 games in four rounds of play to determine a Vinci champion. The tournament format followed the same basic structure as in previous years, two preliminary qualifying heats, one semifinal round (if needed) and one Final.

Tuesday evening 20 players appeared for the first preliminary Heat. Players were divided into five 4-player games. Mark Pitcavage, Joe Pabis, Jonathan Miller, Paul Murphy and Bryan Eshleman emerged victorious and advanced to the semifinals. The second preliminary heat had an even larger attendance, 23 players bright and early on Friday morning. Players were randomly separated into three 5-player games and two 4-players. Alan Kaiser, Ashley Collinson, Bruce Bernard, Brian Carr and David Fritsch recorded wins.

If there had been six or fewer preliminary winners then a semifinal round would not have been needed. This year there were 10 preliminary winners and as promised a number of runner-ups would advance to the semifinals, one third the number of winners. The top four second place finishers were Alex Gesing, Chris Palermo, Benjamin Foy and John Morris. In their preliminary heats Alex had a tie for first and was the victim of the tie breaker, Chris and Benjamin were a mere one point behind their leaders, John had a very close two-point loss.

The field of 38 was thus reduced to 14 semi-finalists, curiously all with distinct first names, in spelling anyways. Ten arrived to compete Saturday at 11 am slightly before high-noon. Two games of 5 would determine who advanced to the Final. There were four prizes at stake so the top two players from each game would advance. Alan and Brian advanced from the table with Mark, Chris and John. Bruce and Joe advanced from the table with Benjamin, Alex and Ashley.

The Final was held at a mutually agreed upon time Saturday evening in a neutral location. Players were seated randomly, in player order Joe, Bruce, Brian and Alan. The Fnal showdown was about to begin. A hush fell over the crowd (OK, it was only the GM).

For a complete play by play summary of the Final please visit "". In short the finalists emerged with Joe 123, Alan 119, Bruce 115 and Brian 109. Thus, Joe Pabis became the 2005 Vinci Champion with a preliminary win, semifinal tie for first and a Final victory.

 GM      Mark Neale [1st Year]   NA   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page