tyranno ex [Updated October 2005]  

 2005 WBC Report  

 2006 Status: pending December Membership Century Vote 

Peter Staab, PA

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
1992    William Patrick      16
1993    William Patrick      16
1994    Tom De Marco      21
1995    Carolyn De Marco      18
1996    Tom De Marco      25
1997    Carolyn De Marco      36
1998    Tom De Marco      39
1999    Mike Lescault     23
2000    Verity Hitchings     23
2001    Verity Hitchings     30
2002    Mark Love     26
2003     Gary Noe     38
2004    Pete Pollard     23
2005     Peter Staab     27


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Verity Hitchings   DE    05     72
  2.  Mark Love          MD    02     52
  3.  Tom DeMarco        NJ    05     51
  4.  Jeff Finkeldey     OH    99     42
  5.  Peter Staab        PA    05     48
  6.  Gary Noe           FL    04     36
  7.  Peter Pollard      TN    04     30
  8.  Mike Lescault      MA    99     30
  9.  Francis Spencer    MD    04     20
 10.  Kathy Hitchings    DE    04     19
 11.  Skip Maloney       NY    05     18
 12.  David Farrow       PA    01     18
 13.  Matt Evinger       PA    00     18
 14.  Charles Davis      WV    02     16
 15.  Robert eastman     NV    03     12
 16.  Ed Kendrick        UK    01     12
 17.  Tom Vickery        NJ    00     12
 18.  Christina Hancock  NH    99     12
 19.  Robert Drozd       IL    04      9
 20.  Sarah Buckmiller   OH    03      9
 21.  Mike Mahady        TX    00      9
 22.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    05      6
 23.  Marc Houde         VA    03      6
 24.  John Elbl          PA    99      6
 25.  John Miklos        GA    05      3
 26.  Paul Barnett       UK    01      3
 27.  Dave Platnick      VA    99      3

2005 Laurelists

Skip Maloney,NY

Verity Hitchings, DE

Tom DeMarco, NJ

Kaarin Engelmann, VA

John Miklos, GA

Past Winners

William Patrick, MI

Tom DeMarco, NJ
1994, 1996, 1998

Carolyn DeMarco, NJ
1995, 1997

Mike Lescault, MA

Verity Hitchings, DE

Mark Love, MD

Gary Noe, FL

Peter Pollard, TN

Evolution of the German Imports

For this year's tourney, I reduced the number of heats from three to two in an attempt to offset the multiple heat penalty in the Century calculations, and because there were only two unique players in the third heat in '04. Therefore I was a bit concerned when only eight players arrived for the initial heat on Tuesday. But those two games were noteworthy in that newcomer John Miklos won the first game he entered and Skip Maloney won a game for the first time (according to him) in three years at WBC.

The second heat had me even more concerned when a few minutes before the start I only had a handful of players. But in an instant a proverbial rush occurred and there were 20 players in attendance including a few rookies. However, in that heat, experience showed as veteran competitors Tom DeMarco, Pete Staab, Rob Eastman, Matt Evinger, Roy Gibson, and Kaarin Engelmann came out on top. Notable in the second heat was Kaarin's win, where she recovered from 43 points behind after three rounds to win in six. Also, in one of the lowest scoring games in recent memory, Tom DeMarco and Roy Gibson tied in a game with the final scores 17-17-12-8.

Although there were an optimal eight winners for the semifinals, schedule conflicts reduced the group to seven even after including two alternates, Verity Hitchings and myself. With both first and second place finishers advancing to the Final, Tom and Verity advanced from one table, while Skip and Pete tied in a short five-round game, 69-69.

In the Fnal, Pete Staab jumped out in the lead on the first round and built upon it in the second. The usual hammer the leader tactics pushed him into last in the third round where he stayed during the fourth. However, he had built a strong foundation of animals for the fifth (and deciding) round, where his 25 points gave him his first Tyranno Ex championship, 69-56-55-51.

Continuing my look at starting seat performance from last year, out of nine four-player games the third player (green) won or tied five, continuing the trend from last year. The third player is the only one moving last once per game. In the maximum length game (seven rounds) all other players move last twice.

Overall attendance increased from 23 to 27. Of note was the fact that we gained at least four brand new players to Tyranno, all of whom indicated they hoped to return next year. Informal feedback indicated that many regulars did not arrive in time for the Tuesday heat. That coupled with the conflicts during the semifinal will lead me to explore alternative schedules for '06.

 GM      Jeff Finkeldey [2nd year]   NA 
    JFinkeldey@aol.com    NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page