titan: the arena [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report   

 2006 Status: pending 2006 GM commitment

Robert Kircher, RI

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
1997    Peter Staab        72
1998    Brian Sutton      178
1999    Kaarin Engelmann     115
2000    Alan Witte       97
2001    Rebecca Hebner       56
2002    Joe Sposito       45
2003    Brenden Coomes       47
2004     Devin Flawd       63
2005    Robert Kircher       79


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Rebecca Hebner     CO    02     54
  2.  Alan Witte         NJ    00     50
  3.  Joseph Sposito     NJ    02     40
  4.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    00     35
  5.  Brenden Coomes     OH    03     30
  6.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    00     30
  7.  Robert Kircher     RI    05     20
  8.  Devin Flawd        PA    04     20
  9.  Bruce Monnin       OH    00     20
 10.  Gerald Lientz      VA    03     18
 11.  Keith Levy         MD    01     18
 12.  Jerry Ohlinger     NY    99     18
 13.  Rodd Polsky        PA    02     16
 14.  Eric Gorr          VA    00     15
 15.  James Hopkin       CA    02     14
 16.  Dan Eshleman       NC    05     12
 17.  Rob Schoenen       PA    04     12
 18.  Josh Campbell      NY    03     12
 19.  Arthur Field       SC    02     12
 20.  Ken Sheffield      VA    01     12
 21.  Craig Melton       VA    99     12
 22.  Josh Githens       SC    00     10
 23.  Chris Greenfield   NY    03      9
 24.  Scott Buckwalter   MD    01      9
 25.  John Coussis       IL    99      9
 26.  Harry Flawd        PA    05      8
 27.  Abby Cocke         MD    04      8
 28.  Carmen Petruzelli  PA    05      6
 29.  Mark Love          MD    04      6
 30.  Rob Brode          MD    03      6
 31.  Randy Jackson      OH    99      6
 32.  Morio Taketori    JPN    05      4
 33.  Tracy Graf         MD    04      4
 34.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    02      4
 35.  Mark Mitchell      VA    03      3
 36.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01      3
 37.  Jason Ley          WA    99      3
 38.  John Poniske Jr    PA    05      2
 39.  Joe Nemet          PA    04      2

2005 Laurelists

Dan Eshleman, NC

Harry Flawd, PA

Carmen Petruzelli, PA

Morio Taketori, Japan

John Poniske, PA

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Brian Sutton, MD

Kaarin Englemann, VA

Alan Witte, NJ

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Joe Sposito, NJ

Brenden Coomes, OH

Devin Flawd, PA

Always a titanic struggle ...

This year we had 79 players, 25% up from last year. And since many of the players were new to the game (or hadn't played in a few years), the prospect of reaching the glory days of yore may soon become a reality. While the option to use the new version of the game (Fantasy Flight's Colossal Arena) was available, all of the games ended up using the Avalon Hill version.

23 preliminary games occurred over three heats, producing 22 winners (Dan Eshleman won two heats). Of those, 17 came to test their mettle furher in the semifinal, with three alternates who took second in a heat filling the remainder of the field. The semifinal matches were grueling. In one, Joe Burch used the Head Referee to expose David Burkey's secret bet in Round 2, sealing the fate of both David and his Dragon, and helping Harry Flawd to advance to the Final.

Joining Harry at the Final table were Carmen Petruzzelli, Morio Taketori, Rob Kirchner, and Dan Eshelman. The first round was friendly; everyone made a secret bet, and the un-bet upon Dragon was the first to fall. The second round appeared just as friendly; the Hydra died without any chips. But the third round was going to get ugly, with each player having bet on one of the creatures in the first round, another in the second round, and yet different ones in round 3. As the majority of players had some interest in most creatures, there was quite a lot of jockeying done before the Troll (bet on by Morio, Dan, and Harry, in round order) finally died. The fourth round was similar, with the Titan (the one creature with no first-round bet) succombing, taking another token from Morio and Dan.

As the only finalist without an undefeated record, Rob had the chance to stay under the radar as they targetted each other, and largely it worked - only his third-round bet on the Warlock was lost in round 5. He did forget to bet his last chip, which could have proved crucial. The three surviving creatures each had at least three different colors, so the visible bets were all close. As usual, it came down to secret bets. Morio's and Carmen'·s secret bets did not survive, putting them out of the running. Robert managed to win by one point over Dan and Harry, so he hadn't needed that forgotten chip after all.

Congratulations to our 2005 Champ, Robert Kirchner, and thank you all for playing. I hope to see you all next year!

Only twelve little Titans were on hand Tuesday night for the first regular Junior's event slot, but they waged a colossal battle nonetheless. The finalists were:

1st: Tommy Miklos

2nd: Carolyn Strock

3rd: Zack Dunn

4th: Daniel Collinson

5th: Tim Keating

 GM     Greg Crowe  (3rd year)   NA
   NA   NA 

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page