medici [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report  

2006 Status: pending December Membership Century Vote

Gary Noe, FL

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings



Event History
1999    Kevin Wojtasczyk       86
2000    Harald Henning       84
2001    Doug Galullo       95
2002    Ann Cornett     115
2003    Thomas Stokes     118
2004     Peter Staab     109
2005     Gary Noe       98

Euro Quest Event History
2003    John Adams     26
2004    Thomas Browne     18


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Harald Henning     CT    02     52
  2.  Tom Stokes         NJ    03     43
  3.  Gary Noe           FL    05     42
  4.  Ann Cornett        FL    02     40
  5.  Peter Staab        PA    04     30
  6.  Doug Galullo       FL    01     30
  7.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    99     30
  8.  John Kerr          VA    04     26
  9.  Jeff Mullet        OH    02     24
 10.  Fred Minard        PA    05     23
 11.  Bruce Reiff        OH    04     21
 12.  Thomas Browne      PA    04     20
 13.  John Adams         MD    03     20
 14.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    03     20
 15.  Eric Brosius       MA    05     18
 16.  Eugene Lin         WA    04     18
 17.  James Pei          VA    05     16
 18.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    03     16
 19.  Brett Mingo        MD    02     13
 20.  Marty Hoff         TX    04     12
 21.  George Sauer       OH    03     12
 22.  Gary Carr          VA    03     12
 23.  Scott Cornett      FL    02     12
 24.  Roy Gibson         MD    01     12
 25.  Marc Houde         VA    05      9
 26.  Ben Foy            MD    04      9
 27.  Alfred Wong        IL    99      9
 28.  Daniel Broh-Kahn   MD    04      8
 29.  Joe Jaskiewicz     MD    04      8
 30.  Tom Dunning        NJ    03      8
 31.  Jeff Cornett       FL    02      8
 32.  Charles Faella     RI    05      6
 33.  Tom DeMarco        MD    04      6
 34.  Gary Presser       NY    04      6
 35.  Kathy Stroh        MD    03      6
 36.  Jenn Thomas        NY    01      6
 37.  Ilan Woll          CT    01      3

2005 Laurelists

Eric Brosius, MA

James Pei, VA

Marc Houde, VA

Charles Faella, RI

Fred Minard, PA

Past Winners

Kevin Wojtasczyk, NY

Harald Henning, CT

Doug Galullo, FL

Ann Cornett, FL

Tom Stokes, NJ

Peter Staab, PA

We Should All Decline so Gracefully

The slow but steady decline of the Medici tournament continued this year as participation dropped below 100 for the first time in four years. It is hard to know how much blame one can attribute to the shift in venue and how much stems from decreasing interest in the game itself. I am hoping that the numbers rebound next year, but we will see what happens. While the object is to have 5-player games, that goal was again unobtainable this year.

The first heat had 36 players participating in six 5-player and one 6-player game. Interesting occurrences in the first heat included Scott Cornett reaching the top of the dye commodity in the second round and then focusing on getting the biggest boat in the third round to achieve his victory, while Pete Staab, got the heaviest boat in the first round by getting one of each of the five commodities and still managed to earn nine florins from commodities in the round. However, Pete got almost no points in the third round and lost to Kathy Stroh. The other five winners were Lyman Moquin, Robert Drozd, Francis Spencer, Gary Noe and Keith Levy.

The second heat had an ideal field of 45 players for nine 5-player games. In one contest, in two different rounds only the dealer could purchase a 3-load order and each time the dealer pulled the 10 card as the first card. In another game, Chris Palermo was forced to make an overbid of 23 florins to get commodities he wanted - giving the win to Eugene Lin in the process. This heat also featured the closest game of the tournament as John Tighe Jr. beat Brian Clark by one florin, 111 to 110. The other winners in this heat were Eric Brosius, Marc Houde, Jean-Francois Gagne, Eric Eshleman, Fred Minard, Chris Striker and James Pei.

The last heat on Saturday was the biggest with 57 players in nine 5-player and two 6-player games. This heat featured the two biggest routs as Rich Roberts and Charles Faella both won with 25 point spreads. Other winners were Jennifer Thomas, Jeri Freedman, Roger Whitney, Steve Scott, Ben Foy, Kevin Cachia, Charlie Kerston, Mark Love and Alex Bove.

23 of the 27 Preliminary winners returned for the semifinal round, so two alternates were added to make five 5-player games. In the semifinals, Eric Brosius was the only player who could take a 3-load order in the first round. The first time Eric tried to pull a good hand for himself, he got three low value cards in three different commodities and passed on the cards. The next time he got the chance to deal, he turned over two good metal cards with one low metal card to gain a decent advantage that he used to build a lead and eventually win the game. The other four winners were Gary Noe, James Pei, Charles Faella and Marc Houde.

The order for the Final was Noe, Faella, Houde, Brosius and Pei. In the first round, James jumped out to a 20 florin lead over Marc followed by Gary, Charles and Eric. However, Gary and Eric both had started establishing good holdings in two different commodities with three of one commodity and two of the second. In the second round, James didn't get much help and saw his lead over Marc shrink to six florins while Gary remained in third. Eric moved into fourth with a 10 florin bonus in metal and Charles dropped to last. In the last round, Gary got the spice he needed on the first draw to gain the 20-florin bonus for a payment of three florins and then added the high boat (at a total value of 17) to pull out the victory. Eric moved into second with the 20-florin bonus in metal and a tie for second in the largest boat for the round. James took third, Marc held on to fourth while Charles closed the gap with the 20 point bonus although he still finished last.

Despite qualifying as a Century event in 2006 by virtue of attendance, this event has been penalized one level down to Continuing Trial status for failure to submit its event report on time. It will be eligible to be run in 2006 by a new GM only as a Trial event and only if it receives sufficient votes in the Annual membership survey to return as one of the 25 Continuing Trials.

 GM      NA   NA
    NA   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page