liberty [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report  

  2006 Status: pending 2006 GM commitment

Bruce Reiff, OH

2004-05 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
2003    Evan Seary     18
2004    Bruce Reiff     43
2005    Bruce Reiff     25

Block Party Event History
2004    Ric Manns     19
2005    Bruce Reiff     18


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    05    112
  2.  Barry Smith        NY    05     41
  3.  Ric Manns          IN    05     39
  4.  Evan Seary         NY    04     28
  5.  Nick Benedict      CA    04     24
  6.  Mark Miklos        GA    05     22
  7.  Rob Taylor         MI    05     21
  8.  David Metzger      NY    05     16
  9.  Ted Drozd          IL    04     12
 10.  Jack Morrell       NY    03     12
 11.  Bill O'Neal        NY    05     12
 12.  Terry Hollern      OH    05      9
 13.  Pete Stein         OH    05      9
 14.  John Coussis       IL    04      9
 15.  Damian Mastrangelo PA    03      8
 16.  Mike Sims          IN    04      6
 17.  Patrick Duffy      VA    03      6

2005 Laurelists

Barry Smith, NY

David Metzger, NY

Ric Manns, IN

Mark Miklos, GA

Rob Taylor, MI

Past Winners

Evan Seary, NY

Bruce Reiff, OH

Liberty blocks ...

The 2005 version of Liberty saw a pronounced drop in attendance to 25 players as the novelty of the new release wore off. This remains a good turnout for a wargame on the American Revolution, though it is a large drop from the 43 in its second year. We played 30 games in a Swiss-elimination style tourney that would qualify four for single elimination play. Three players qualified with a 3-0 record and one player advanced with a 2-1 record on a tiebreaker with five others.

We bid Victory Points to play the Americans. 18 games had a bid with six players bidding 2 to play the US. Of the six games that had a bid of 2, the US won only one. The Americans won 16 of the 30 games with 11 wins featuring an early French entry in the first two years. The Americans were able to win one game with a late French entry. The Americans won 53% of the games, which was lower than their winning percentage at the BPA Block Party.

The British won five games even with a first year French entry and one second year French entry. Seven of the British victories did not allow a French entry at all. Five of the British wins took place after 1780. The high score of the tourney was an amazing 37 by Bill Beswick.

Players were asked to track the control of the West Indies at the end of the game. The American player needed the West Indies less than the British to win the game. The US only controlled the West Indies in four games that they won, in contrast with the British who controlled the islands in seven of their 14 wins.

Bruce Reiff, David Metzger, Barry Smith and Ric Manns advanced to the Single Elimination rounds where the British won two of three. Bruce swept this portion as the British against Metzger and Smith. Barry advanced to the Final by besting Ric Manns as the US. Bruce concluded the successful defense of his chamipionship in 1776 as he dominated the Mid-Atlantic region by invading and destroying Washington's army in New Brunswick, New Jersey. Bruce has won the last three tourneys of Liberty; two WBC's and the last BPA Block Party.

 GM      Ric Manns  [2nd Year]   241 Greenway Dr., Scottsburg, IN 47170   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page