for the people [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report    

 2006 Status: pending 2006 GM commitment

James Pei, TX

2001-05 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings



Event History
1999    James Pei     22
2000    Trevor Bender     21
2001    James Pei     22
2002    James Pei     29
2003    James Pei     32
2004     James Pei     35
2005    James Pei     24

PBeM Event History
1999    James Pei     24
2002    Stefan Mecay     46

WAM Event History
2003    James Pei      8
2004     James Pei     12
2005    James Pei     17


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  James Pei          VA    05    376
  2.  David Dockter      MN    05    117
  3.  Mark Giddings      NY    03     81
  4.  Trevor Bender      CA    03     62
  5.  Stefan Mecay       TX    02     60
  6.  Mike Mitchell      GA    05     47
  7.  Baron August       PA    02     36
  8.  Peter Reese        VA    04     28
  9.  Tim Miller         GA    04     24
 10.  Nicholas Pei       CA    05     22
 11.  Rob Winslow        NY    05     21
 12.  Dan Hoffman        NC    02     19
 13.  Hank Burkhalter    GA    02     18
 14.  Doug Whatley       MD    00     18
 15.  Tom Drueding       TX    99     18
 16.  Bill Pettus        NJ    05     16
 17.  Tim Miller         GA    05     12
 18.  George Young       VT    03     12
 19.  Paul Risner        TN    02     12
 20.  Tim Hughes         UK    02     12
 21.  Taylor Golding     ON    04     12
 22.  Bob Sohn           PA    05     11
 23.  Bill Thoet         VA    03     10
 24.  Steve Bucey        OH    99      9
 25.  Doug Mercer        MD    05      7
 26.  Kevin McCarthy     OH    99      6
 27.  Keith Butler       CA    03      5
 28.  Don Chappell       TX    05      4
 29.  John Firer         WI    01      4
 30.  Mike Welker        OH    99      3

2005 Laurelists

David Dockter, MN

Nicholas Pei, CA

Rob Winslow, NY

Robert Sohn, NJ

Doug Mercer, MD

Past Winners

James Pei, TX
1999, 2001-2004

Trevor Bender, CA

Ho-Hum, Pei Again ...

Due to the overlapping schedule with the Empire of the Sun tournament. the field for the For The People tournament was down from last year, but the level of competition was the highest yet seen. The final saw the fifth finals confrontation between James Pei, our perennial champio,n and David Dockter, his perennial challenger. However, before this classic rematch could occur, 24 veterens fought five rounds using the campaign scenario with side determined by random die roll.

Once again, the overall results saw a near perfect 50-50 Union-Confederate split of the victories, but many new strategies continue to emerge in this contest of skill. One of the most spectacular combinations during the tournament was Jame's invasion of Mobile with the 'Farragut' card that captured not only the city but its fort, leaving two Union SPs seemingly stranded without a leader in Mobile. However, an out of position Confederate defense allowed this situation to persist until a subsequent use of 'Belmont' saw these two SPs transformed into a deep raid that took Columbus and closed the East Gulf Blockade zone devastating the CSA strategic will over time.

The big game of the tournament was the Pei (Union)- Dockter (Confederate) semifinal match. But you ask how could James play Dockter in the Fnal if they met in the semifinal. The answer is this is Nick Pei, Jame's brother doing battle with his brothers nemesis. In one of the most chaotic and tense games of the tournament Dockter clutched victory from the jaws of defeat when he made a late game comeback with the Confederates with a series of Eastern theater offensives that saw the destruction of three armies and the eventual loss of DC.

Dockter in a For The People version of déjà vu then faced older brother James in the finals. In another tough battle Dockter once again fell to Jame's aggressive eastern theater Confederate tactics. Once again Dockter vowed vengeance in the future and it should be fun to see how things turn out at this year's WAM when these two titans of the FTP scene cross swords once again.

2002 PBeM Tournament

Stefan Mecay of Texas proved the best of a field of 46 in winning the second BPA PBeM tournament of For The People. Other laurelists were:

2nd: Baron August, PA

3rd: James Pei, VA

4th: Mark Giddings, NY

5th: Tim Hughes, UK

6th: Paul Risner, FL

 GM      Mark Herman  [3rd Year]   NA    NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page