brawling battleships [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report  

 2006 Status: pending 2006 GM commitment

Jeff Spaner, MD

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings:


Event History
2004    Rob Mull     30
2005     Jeff Spaner     34


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Jeff Spaner        MD    05     30
  2.  Rob Mull           CO    04     20
  3.  Steve Raszewski    MD    05     18
  4.  Andrew Fedin       PA    05     12
  5.  Kevin Brownell     ME    04     12
  6.  Bruce young        SC    05      9
  7.  Tin Evinger        PA    04      8
  8.  James Dougherty    PA    05      6
  9.  Tom Phillips       NJ    04      6
 10.  Chris Greenfield   NY    04      4
 11.  Bradley Raszewski  MD    05      3
 12.  Mark Bayliss       UK    04      2

2005 Laurelists

Steve Raszewski, MD

Andrew Fedin, PA

Bruce Young, SC

James Dougherty, PA

Brad Raszewski, MD

Past Winners

Rob Mull, CO


Last year I ran this event, which then included the original BRAWLING BATTLESHIPS game and its Expansion Deck, all on one busy Saturday, an ordeal that included three hours of marathon demonstrations, a three-hour elimination round and a three-hour championship round that was a true bloodletting. This year, with the new and improved BRAWLING BATTLESHIPS STEEL version of the game, I was determined to spread the pain over more days and ran a three-hour heat on Wednesday, a one-hour demonstration and a three-hour heat on Thursday and a three-hour heat on Friday. 34 individuals participated in the heats, a number of them multiple times, so that 44 positions were filled. None of the players from last year's championship round participated, so we were certain to have an all-new crew in the finals. All this mayhem on the high seas was followed by an elimination round followed by a championship round on Saturday.

The Saturday elimination round was to be two four-player tables consisting of the eight winners from tables in the earlier heats but one of the heat winners didn't show. We continued with yours truly filling in as a fourth at one of the tables, with the understanding that I would be automatically eliminated and the other three would automatically advance to the championship round. At the other table, Jeff Spaner was the one eliminated but one of the winners, Matt Evinger, had to leave to participate in another event, so Jeff was allowed to remain and occupy the sixth slot in the final table. As it turned out, this very same Jeff Spaner was in the lead and had 39 victory points at the end of the second sortie of the championship round. He had to fight off attempts at annihilation by his opponents during the third sortie and survived but scored no victory points while Steve Raszewski (or Mr. Persistence as I called him - played in all three heats before winning a spot in the finals in the third heat) increased his total to an identical 39 victory points. By the game's rules, a tie for the lead requires another sortie to be played by all players but most of the group had to be elsewhere, so the championship had to be settled by a dice roll. Jeff Spaner won the roll and is the 2005 champion. Fourth and fifth place was also a tie and required a dice roll to position the players. Such is life! They were a good group and I hope to see many of them again next year. The final round, a low-scoring affair, was exciting and unusual and the official results are as follows:

FIRST PLACE (WINNER): Jeff Spaner - 39 victory points.
SECOND PLACE: Steve Raszewski - 39 victory points.
THIRD PLACE: Andy Fedin - 32 victory points.
FOURTH PLACE: Bruce Young - 24 victory points.
FIFTH PLACE: Jim Dougherty - 24 victory points.
SIXTH PLACE: Brad Raszewski (Steve's son) - 23 victory points.

 GM      Craig Taylor  [2nd Year]   NA
   NA   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page