auction [Updated October 2005]  

2005 WBC Report  

 2006 Status: pending December Membership Century Vote

James Tyne, OH

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
1993    Bruce Reiff        8
1994    Ken Gutermuth      32
1995    Bruce Reiff      28
1996    Bruce Monnin      32
1997    Ken Gutermuth      16
1998    Cliff Ackman      28
1999    George Sauer     26
2000    Kevin Wojtaszczyk     39
2001    Arthur Field     34
2002    Bruce Reiff     40
2003    David Brooks     44
2004    Ray Stakenas II     42
2005     James Tyne     36


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    05     44
  2.  Arthur Field       SC    04     38
  3.  George Sauer       OH    03     26
  4.  James Tyne         OH    05     20
  5.  Ray Stakenas II    MI    04     20
  6.  Andy Gardner       VA    04     20
  7.  David Brooks       TN    03     20
  8.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    02     20
  9.  Jeff Mullet        OH    05     18
 10.  Luke Koleszar      VA    99     14
 11.  Doug Galullo       FL    05     12
 12.  Lisa Gutermuth     TX    03     12
 13.  Mary Kratz         ID    00     12
 14.  Steve Cuccaro      MD    99     12
 15.  Andy Joy           MD    05      8
 16.  Debbie Bell        MD    02      8
 17.  Nick Benedict      ON    01      8
 18.  Debbie Gutermuth   TX    00      8
 19.  Nick Smith         UK    01      6
 20.  Cliff Ackman       PA    00      6
 21.  Jason O'Donnell    OH    99      6
 22.  Davyd Field        SC    03      6
 23.  Ben Shanks         SC    04      4
 24.  Tom Browne         PA    02      4
 25.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    00      4
 26.  Tim Kelley         SC    05      2
 27.  Jon Lockwood       VA    04      2
 28.  Beth Bernard       VA    03      2
 29.  Debbie Otto        MO    99      2

2005 Laurelists

Doug Galullo, FL

Andy Joy, MD

Bruce Reiff, OH

Jeff Mullet, OH

Tom Kelley, SC

Past Winners

Bruce Reiff, OH
1993, 1995, 2002

Ken Gutermuth, TX
1994, 1997

Bruce Monnin, OH

Cliff Ackman, PA

George Sauer, OH

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

Arthur Field, SC

Dave Brooks, TN

Ray Stakenas II, MI

Collecting by another name ...

Auction, the game of acquisition, saw its participation level drop by 10% (Down four from 40 to 36 !!!) The game is only an hour long and each year has to be revoted in by its die hard following Sort of the 1776 of the Euro game world

Five boards of 4-player games were played in the first round Walking away with the victors laurels were Bruce Reiff, Kathryn Taillon, Alex Bell, Cliff Ackman and Doug Galullo. Interesting to note that Kathryn (the wife of someone who shall remain nameless, however The FIELDS are alive with the sound of music) finished first but did not declare for victory.

The second round had six boards. As for problems a GM could expect to encounter, a new one was added to the list. About halfway through a game it was noticed that the game deck had been miscollated at the factory and that the players were playing with a loaded deck !!! Extra cards of different sets were included in the game. This happened to be the second deck like this that we have encountered. So Auction fans CHECK YOUR DECKS !!! The game was restarted. However, one player had to drop to make his next event and the GM filled in as he had not played in a game of his own tournament thus far Winners were Vassil Kyrkos, Jeff Mullet, Ken Guttermuth, David Platnick, Andy Joy, and Mike Hazel.

The 11 winners converged upon the semis and five alternates who had garnered the most cash in their games were also on hand Random selection of seating positions found ex-champs BRUCE REIFF, KEN GUTERMUTH and ARTHUR FIELD with six plaques between them, on the same board for the second consecutive year. The fourth was Tim Kelley. Bruce battered his opponents into submission to advance. George Sauer, Jeff Mullet, Cliff Ackman and Andy Joy found their way onto board 2 of the semis Andy Joy walked all over this crew to advance. Mike Hazel, Doug Galullo, David Platnick and Kate Taillon faced off on board 3 and Doug managed to punch his ticket for the next round. Ken Good, Vassili Kyrkos, James Tyne and Alex Bell sat in on board 4. Columbusite James Tyne snuck by Ken Good to make it into the Final.

Doug Galullo, Andy Joy and two Columbusites Bruce Reiff and James Tyne would face off in the Final. James Tyne overcame TWO bank refuses to pay on the last turn to turn a loss into a great comeback victory.

All in all, each of the four rounds took only an hour and only 16 games were played so it looks like AUCTION will once again need member votes to return in 2006. The game is quick to play, easy to learn and difficult to master.

 GM      George Sauer  [2nd Year]  NA   NA 

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page