slapshot [Updated August 2001]

SLS  3 prizes Beginners Single Elim Continuous 
 Demo 18
    22 Round 2 23 Final

  Maryland Ballroom 3 & 4

Kaarin Engelmann, VA

2001 Champion

2nd: Gordon Elgart, CA

3rd: John Emery, SC

4th: Paul Saunders, VA

5th: John Ellsworth, FL

6th: Steve Scott, CA
Event History
1991    None      -
1992    None      -
1993    Andy Lewis       24
1994    Luke Kratz       39
1995    Peter Staab       74
1996    Leonard Omolecki       75
1997    Dan Metzger      106
1998    Dennis Nicholson      116
1999    Derek Landel     131
2000    Leonard Omolecki     133
2001    Kaarin Engelmann     108

AREA Ratings:

GM: Bruce Reiff

Join the Crowd ...

The 2001 Slapshot tournament room was practically empty this year as only 108 of the usual crowd showed up to play. Was it the new time slot? Was it the new dates of the convention? Was it the competition from Gene Billingsley and the Meet GMT seminar (which GMT Vice-President Andy Lewis blew off to play Slapshot!)? Was it the fact Mark Yoshikawa wasn't there in his referee outfit to harass the crowd?

I don't know, but we had a great time nonetheless. Keith belted out the rules with the usual flair and the gaming got underway with scarcely a second thought to the finally broken eight-year string of increased attendance. This was the year of Tiny Tim as he caused havoc with both goalies and bruisers alike.

At assistant GM Keith Hunsinger's table, Tiny Tim score six goals (four against pucked winner John ­ my Blackhawks got beat by the Blue Jackets ­ Coussis). However, neither of those two losers advanced ­ John Ellsworth did.

At Kevin Wojtaszczyk's table, Kevin used Tiny Tim to score twice in the playoffs and advance. In fact, Tiny Tim outscored the Superstar 5-4 overall.

Leonard Omolecki, defending and two-time champ, managed to get pucked and advance.

At the Andy Lewis wussy open hand table, Tiny Tim scored five goals and knocked out five bruisers including Le Goon in the playoffs. Tom Parauda advanced.

At Kaarin Engleman's table, Tiny Tim managed to score twice on Crease Lightening!!! Kaarin moved on anyway.

At yours truly's table, Don Greenwood was pucked just because he was forced to play with me, Ken Gutermuth and Stuart Tucker! John Emery, however, escaped and moved on.

The most pathetic thing I saw all weekend, however, was Kris Weinschenker's team consisting of Slap Happy (1), Ian Jury (1), Pea Shooter (1), Hip Checker (1), Boney Maloney (2) and the star of the team, goalie Trapper John (4). Phew!!! That stinks!! Su Hung advanced, primarily by kicking the crap out of Kris!

The other semi-finalists were: Dan Henry, Dan Hoffman, Gordon Elgart, Paul Saunders, Harry Flawd, Doug Galullo and Steve Scott.

The costume contest was held again this year and the winners were:

1st ­ Mike Dwyer in an Albany River Rats jersey
2nd ­ Paul Bolduc in an oldtime Montreal Canadians jersey
3rd ­ Rob Winslow ­ Buffalo Sabers jersey
4th ­ Kris Weinschenker in a classic Penguins jersey
5th ­ Rob Kircher ­ in a free agent Jeff #18 Charlestown Chiefs jersey
6th ­ Debbie Garver in an Atlanta Thrasher Jersey

The finals were a hard fought affair. When the playoff came it was Kaarin Engleman vs John Emery and Gordon Elgart vs Paul Saunders. Kaarin beat John and Gordon beat Paul setting up the battle for the wood. It really wasn't a battle as Gordon's team had been decimated in the first round by Paul's bruisers and Kaarin swept to victory. John took third place. Fifth through eighth were John Ellsworth, Steve Scott, Kevin W. and Tom Parauda.

Thanks to all for another great year! See you in 2002 when we start another string of increasing attendance!

 GM     Bruce Reiff [7th year]  3668 Mariner's Way, Lewis Center, OH 43035  (740) 548-2429

2001 Preview Page
View the Icon Key