across five aprils [Updated August 2000]

   9-15   16-20  

 Salon CD

Mark Miklos, GA

2000 Champion

2nd: Michael Sincavage, VA

3rd: Dave Ketchum, FL

4th: Bill O'Neal, NY

5th: Bill Place, PA

6th: Brian Conlon, MD
Event History
1991    None      -
1992    None      -
1993    Nick Frydas      37
1994    Dennis Culhanne      31
1995    Mark Giddings      24
1996    David Metzger      40
1997    David Metzger      23
1998    Terry Coleman      21
1999    Michael Sincavage     22
2000    Mark Miklos     16
AREA Ratings
 1    Michael Sincavage      5960
 2    Mark Miklos      5769
 3    David Metzger      5766
 4    Mark Giddings      5500
 5    Brian Conlon      5457
 6    Andy Lewis      5277
 7    William Place      5237
 8    Jeffrey Lange Jr      5220
 9    Bruce Monnin      5217
10    Earl Anderson      5214

Truly Brother vs Brother ...

The 2000 Across Five Aprils tournament saw 16 players, including four first-time participants, come together to re-fight battles from the American Civil War. This tournament format is unique; you play the same side throughout the entire tournament so you are only competing against the other players on your side until the final. Everyone is guaranteed three games in the first round.

The initial game was Bull Run which was used only as a tie-breaker so it works well to shake off the cobwebs about the system. The Union won this scenario 8 to 0. The seven-year totals are now: Union 81 wins, Confederate 34 wins, and one draw. The second game was Bentonville with the Union having a slight edge of two wins, one loss, and drawing five. The final first round game was Pea Ridge. This game was won resoundingly by the Union 6 to 0 with two undecided which again reversed the previous year's outcome when the Confederates won six of nine.

For the quarterfinals, we advanced four from each side and although it's single elimination, it's still not lose your game and be out since you are still competing against your own side. The Confederates won two victories, lost one and drew one in Bentonville (six-year totals now: U 33, C 63, D 47).

The semifinals, Pea Ridge, saw two wild and wooly Union wins. Both games came down to the last combat of the last turn of day 2. In the end the results of both games were the same, so I had to break the tie. Mark Miklos' Confederates advanced because he forced the Union to lose control of Elkhorn Tavern the latest in the game.

This set up a final of Pea Ridge between Mark Miklos's Confederates and defending champion Michael Sincavage's Union. Mark won on the last turn of the second day for the championship (Pea Ridge six-year totals: U 61, C 63, D 3). For the third straight year, the championship was determined on the last turn of the second day. The games in the semi-finals and finals lasted way too long, but as close they were there was no way to adjudicate them earlier.

 GM      Andy Lewis [7th Year]  16 Gosling Drive, Lewes, DE 19958   (302) 644-1984

Previous (Old) Yearbook Page
View the Icon Key