win, place & show

Updated Nov. 16, 2015

2015 WBC Report

2016 Status: pending December 2015 Membership Trial Vote

Stuart Tucker

2015 Champion

Event History

1992 Bruce Reiff 14
1993 Stephen Kershaw 10
1994 Stuart Tucker 20
1995 Dennis Nicholson 29
1996 Bruce Reiff 17
1997 John Coussis 15
1998 Bruce Reiff 14
1999 Bruce Reiff 31
2000 Ken Gutermuth 26
2001 Ken Gutermuth 42
2002 Stuart Tucker 40
2003 Robert Drozd 41
2004 Dave Steiner 57
2005 Dave Steiner 28
2006 John Welage 37
2007 John Welage 39
2008 Jason Levine 34
2009 Ted Drozd 25
2010 John Welage 27
2011 Jeremy Billones 22
2012 Jason Levine 29
2013 Jason Levine 27
2014 Bert Schoose 32
2015 Stuart Tucker 27


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    15    145
  2.  John Welage        OH    12    107
  3.  Jason Levine       NY    13    103
  4.  Bruce Reiff        OH    15     95
  5.  Stuart Tucker      MD    15     77
  6.  Dave Steiner       DE    14     76
  7.  Craig Fox          PA    15     70
  8.  Robert Drozd       IL    06     48
  9.  Jeremy Billones    VA    13     36
 10.  Ted Drozd          IL    09     24
 11.  Jim Bell           MD    04     24
 12.  Jeff August        VA    04     24
 13.  Bert Schoose       IL    14     22
 14.  Gerald Lientz      VA    08     21
 15.  Jeff Finkeldey     OH    15     20
 16.  Mike Zorrer        DE    15     18
 17.  Mark Kennel        DE    10     18
 18.  Jim Garvey         NY    03     18
 19.  John Emery         SC    06     14
 20.  Vassili Kyrkos     NY    14     12
 21.  Gadoon Kyrollos    NJ    11     12
 22.  Jennifer Visocnik  IL    08     12
 23.  Lance Fogel        PA    01     12
 24.  Bruce Monnin       OH    02      9
 25.  John Tighe Sr      DE    10      8
 26.  Josh Githens       SC    04      8
 27.  Christina Harley   VA    12      6
 28.  Raphael Lehrer     CA    09      6
 29.  Anna Palermo       NY    02      6
 30.  Joshua Garton      VA    01      6
 31.  Charles Ellsworth  NY    00      6
 32.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    99      6
 33.  Scott Foremny      PA    13      4
 34.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    09      4
 35.  Michael Cook       VA    01      4
 36.  John Tighe Jr      NJ    99      4
 37.  Rachel Harley      VA    08      3
 38.  Tom Browne         PA    07      3
 39.  Peter Martin       NJ    99      1
2015 Laurelists Returning Laurelists: 3

Craig Fox, PA

Jeff Finkeldey, OH

Ken Gutermuth, NC

Bruce Reiff, OH

Mike Zorrer, OH

Past Winners

Bruce Reiff, OH
'92, '96, 1998-99

Stuart Tucker, MD
1994, 2002, 2015

Dennis Nicholson, NY

John Coussis, IL

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Robert Drozd, IL

Dave Steiner, DE

John Welage, PA
2006-07, 2010

Jason Levine, NY
2008, 2012-13

Ted Drozd, IL

Jeremy Billones, VA

Bert Schoose, IL

Chuck Foster, Larry Lingle, Jeff Finkeldey and Ken Gutermuth vie for a seat at the big board.

The eight winners from the qualifying heats are seated for Jim Burnett's Final on the deluxe board.

Bruce Reiff, Craig Fox and Josh Coyle enjoy the view from the back stretch.

Stuart Tucker moves his mount under the watchful eyes of Ken Gutermuth, Jeff Finkeldey and Johnny Wilson.

The Year of Hannibal ...

The Happy Handicapper Makes Good

The racing season at Lancaster Downs retained the four-heat format in 2015. Attendance continued stable for all but the Friday card. We had several new punters join our usual suspects at the track’s windows.

The action began on Sunday with three boards. Previous champions Bruce Reiff and Ken Gutermuth prevailed on two boards and were joined by perennial finalist Craig Fox from the other. As opposed to last year, the winning totals from all boards were low. Bruce managed a respectable $157,000 but the others were much less. In fact, as we went through the week, the winning figures seemed to decrease. In years past, clever wagering gave us amounts exceeding $300,000. This year, most players would have fared better by just claiming the purses and holding on to their stakes.

One interested player appeared for the Tuesday late night demo and then decided to pursue another game. We nonetheless had a few new faces at the heat and filled two boards. Once again, the boards were won by a previous champion, Stuart Tucker, and a perennial, Jeff Finkeldey. Cash in amounts decreased from Sunday as the favorites remained out of the winner’s circle.

Friday was the least attended day with only one board contested. Our youngest player, Joshua Coyle, won with the low total for the week - just $78,000. Attendance rebounded for the Saturday heat as two boards gave wins to Mike Zorrer and Johnny Wilson. Mike once again came through on the last day to punch his Final ticket.

This gave us eight players for the Final racing card on the big board. The first two races literally were spent jockeying for position. There were no successful bets on the daily double with Rotunda (4-1) and Indian Giver (3-1) going unloved, although Tucker took good money on these two races to build an early lead. The middle of the card gave wins to Numerator (15-1) and Adams Apple (4-1) but neither of these nags had much following either and Stuart retained his lead. We did have a bit of a problem in the third race when it was realized that Bone Bruise had accidentally not moved some of his allowance at some time. It was impossible to correct and the race was continued with the horse at a disadvantage. Discussion continued throughout the game and a recommendation was made by Gutermuth that in the future such obvious discrepancies should be dealt with by considering the horse to scratch and canceling all bets on that horse. Also, more care should be used in monitoring moves on each turn.

Nothing changed in the fifth race. Bidding on horses increased as players wanted to control their own destiny. Little money was made again, as Slow Molasses held off Dying Ember to disappoint the backers of the regular crowd favorite, Cockroach. Stuart now enjoyed an almost unassailable lead. The sixth race featured even more spirited bidding, especially for the usual betting favorite, Mona Lisa. Bettors should have had their money on Hannibal, however, as he appropriately edged Lisa at the finish in the year of the Hannibal GM. The fight had long gone to Stuart with his $200,000 winnings. Craig Fox with $112,000 edged Jeff Finkeldey with $104,500 for second.

The punters all look forward to the 2016 season at our new Seven Springs track.

GM Jim Burnett and his finalists at the last meeting of Lancaster Downs.
GM Jim Burnett [7th Year] NA NA

2015 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page