football strategy   

Updated Nov. 23, 2013

 2013 WBC Report  

2014 Status: pending 2014 GM commitment

Bruce Reiff, OH

2013 Champion

Event History
1991    Mike Fitzgerald      22
1992    Bill Cleary      30
1993    Paul O'Neil      30
1994    Gordon Rodgers      42
1995    David Terry      36
1996    Bruce Reiff      30
1997    Paul O'Neil      32
1998    Paul O'Neil      24
1999    Bruce Reiff     27
2000    Bruce Reiff     28
2001    Bruce Reiff     25
2002    Bill Cleary     27
2003    Bruce Reiff     32
2004     Kevin Keller     31
2005    Bruce Reiff     28
2006    Ken Whitesell     32
2007     Bruce Reiff     35
2008     Bruce Reiff     23
2009    Bert Schoose     33
2010    Bruce Reiff     30
2011    Joe Powell     28
2012    Joe Powell     22
2013    Bruce Reiff     26


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    13    282
  2.  Bill Cleary        MD    09     99
  3.  Ken Whitesell      MD    13     75
  4.  Joe Powell         VA    13     70
  5.  Ray Stakenas II    CA    13     68
  6.  David Rynkowski    NY    12     57
  7.  Bert Schoose       IL    10     56
  8.  Kevin Keller       MD    13     51
  9.  Paul O'Neil        MD    06     33
 10.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    11     24
 11.  Marvin Birnbaum    NY    07     24
 12.  Arthur Davis       MI    04     21
 13.  Jason Levine       NY    04     18
 14.  Stan Buck          MD    01     18
 15.  Erik Arneson       PA    10     14
 16.  Jim Vroom          PA    11     13
 17.  Stuart Tucker      MD    04     12
 18.  Sumner Clarren     MD    00     12
 19.  Dave Denton        NY    07      9
 20.  Keith Schoose      CA    03      9
 21.  David Anderson     PA    00      9
 22.  Ray Stakenas       MI    08      8
 23.  Gordon Rodgers     PA    00      8
 24.  Wes Coates         MD    13      6
 25.  Doug Galullo       MD    12      6
 26.  Michael Schoose    IL    09      6
 27.  Tom Shaw           MD    00      6
 28.  Alan Moon          MA    99      6
 29.  Josh Cooper        MD    08      4
 30.  Nicole Reiff       OH    10      3
 31.  Debbie Bell        MD    03      3
 32.  Pitt Crandlemire   MA    01      3
 33.  Jeremy Billones    VA    00      3
 34.  Sean McCulloch     OH    12      2
 35.  Harry Flawd        PA    99      2

2013 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists:

Kevin Keller, MD

Joe Powell, VA

Wes Coates, MD

Ken Whitesell, PA

Ray Stakenas, Jr, CA

Past Winners

Mike Fitzgerald, CT

Bill Cleary, MD
1992, 2002

Paul O'Neil, MD
1993, 1997-1998

Gordon Rodgers, PA

Dave Terry, MD

Bruce Reiff, OH

Kevin Keller, MD

Ken Whitesell, PA

Bert Schoose, IL

Joe Powell, PA

Wes Coates revives his football calling days in the AH league against Sean McCulloch.

Joshua Coyle goes up against the big green machine - or rather, the big meanie?

A black day for football fans ...

The Football Strategy tournament went through the first significant change in the past several years as one of the heats was moved to Monday afternoon/night. We were ready for some Monday Night Football! This move was greeted warmly by a number of the participants who commented that this made it easier for them to participate this year. Unfortunately as with any change, some folks who could not make it to the WBC in time missed out on the early heat to their dismay. No worries though as we still had the "normal" Wednesday night heat for them to get their gridiron fix.

As for the on the field (board) action, the first round on Monday saw mostly lopsided games as Wes Coates' 20 to 13 win over Sean McCulloch was the closest game of the night. Wes hadn't played the game in 20 years, but his first WBC as a player showed he hadn't forgotten how it is done. Jim Vroom outlasted Bruno Sinigaglio 44 to 35 in the highest scoring game of the first round in a game between old AHFSL veterans. Craig Yope had his offense in gear for a 45 to 27 win over Mark Love while Jeremy Billones could only muster 6 points against Robert Kircher's stout defense.

The second round saw the lopsided beatings continue as Mr. Vroom upset Bruce Reiff with a 27 to 18 win in the closest match of the round. Kevin Keller had both the offense and the defense in high gear as he rolled to a 42 to 0 victory. In the semifinal matches of the Monday heat, Wes Coates put an end to Jim Vroom's celebrations with a 31 to 21 score and Kevin Keller knocked off two-time defending champion, Joe Powell, 16 to 6 in another pair of AHFSL reunion games. Kevin then won the heat outright with a tough 18-14 win over Wes. In one of the more impressive runs of the tournament, Kevin Keller played four games, allowing a combined 27 points. He didn't play any cupcakes either as he ran the table versus three league adversaries plus Doug Galullo; quite an impressive feat.

As the Wednesday heat commenced, several players came back for another chance to be joined by several newcomers to this year's tournament. The first round action saw many more competitive games. Doug Galullo scored a touchdown in the last minute of the game to pull off a 35 to 31 win versus Debbie Bell. Three-time champ Paul O'Neill needed a field goal on the last play of the game to knock off Ray Stakenas, Sr. 23 to 20. Close games continued in the second round, highlighted by Joe Powell's 27 to 25 win over Paul O'Neill. Paul scored a touchdown in the last two minutes of the game to make it 24 to 23 and rather than kick the extra point, he went for two. He made it to take the lead by a point. Not to be outdone, Joe got the ball back with 45 seconds to go and drove to field goal range where he successfully kicked a 50% chance to pull out the win over his old league foe. In the heat's semifinal matches, Bruce Reiff avoided another upset by knocking off Ken Whitesell 35 to 28 after trailing by 17. Joe Powell defeated Ray Stakenas, Jr. to set up the heat final. Bruce got an early lead against the defending champ and held on for the win that would end Joe's two-year reign. This set up the Final between Bruce Reiff, who had got his mojo back and Kevin Keller, who had an awesome night of Football Strategy earlier in the week.

Bruce stopped Kevin on the first drive of the Final and then used eight minutes of clock with an impressive drive that settled for a 3 to 0 lead. Kevin needed to answer with a drive of his own but he was intercepted (18F) on the second play of the ensuing drive. Kevin forced a 3 and out following the turnover. Unfortunately, he couldn't get the offense going while Bruce did and the result was two unanswered touchdowns for the bad guys in the second quarter that pushed his lead to 17 to 0. Kevin played tough in the second half holding Bruce to only one more score but he never could get his offense in gear, scoring only 10 points in a 24 to 10 deflating loss followig his impressive early run on Monday.

The title was Bruce's tenth in FBS and finally gives him his coveted Black Belt - only the third ever achieved at WBC. Now if he could only play For the People ... he's still three behind the Master.

 Thirsty, Ken? Or is that the bucket of gator aide to throw on Jim Vroom after his upset win over the big guy?

 Kevin Keller's Aerial game couldn't handle Bruce's BC offense as the big guy collected his tenth (black) championship in the title game.
 GM      Bert Schoose  [3rd Year]   4331 Clearwater Ln, Naperville, IL 60564-6119    NA

2013 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page