battle cry [Updated May 20, 2009]

  10  11 12 13 14  15  16    


Jeff Cornett, FL

2008 Champion

2nd: Michael Dauer, TX

3rd: David Metzger, NY

4th: John Shaheen, MA

5th: Bill Alderman, VA

6th: Pat Mirk, FL
Event History
2001    Ilan Woll     56
2002    Philip Shea     52
2003    Josh Githens     64
2004    Barry Shoults     52
2005    Robert Eastman     52
2006    Jeff Cornett     42
2007     Larry Lingle     64
2008    Jeff Cornett     48

Jeff Cornett, FL

2009 GM


  Laurels Laurels

Major Changes

This year's event will see major format changes. Although the number of rounds have increased, actual playing time should decrease since each round consists of just one game - not playing the same game twice - once with each side. Instead, balance issues will be handled with an increased emphasic on the importance of bidding for sides.

Tournament Format
The Swiss Preliminaries will consist of five one-game Rounds. All players with at least four wins will advance to the single elimination playoff. As needed, players with three wins will be randomly selected and added to the playoff to achieve an optimal number of players (most likely eight or 16 total).

The scenarios played in each 2-player match will be randomly determined from the 15 published scenarios in the rule book. (Just roll a 20-sided die.)

Players will bid replacement card draws for choice of sides. A replacement card draw can occur at any time in the game and consists of drawing a card and then immediately discarding a card (including perhaps the card just drawn).

Preliminary rounds will be timed 1-hour rounds. At the end of 60 minutes, finish the turn. Total flags then total casualties will determine the winner. If still tied, then the Confederate side wins (one more reason to bid for the Confederates).

 GM      Jeff Cornett  [1st Year]  NA  901-833-5580

View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List