victory in the pacific [Updated April 2006]  

VIP    Rising Sun Pre-Con
 9     14     19
   9     14     19   


Andy Gardner, VA

2005 Champion

2nd: Ed Menzel, CA

3rd: James Eliason, IA

4th: Charles Drozd, IL

5th: Alan Applebaum, MA

6th: John Pack, CO
Event History
1991    Dave Targonski      36
1992    Wes Erni      39
1993    Alan Applebaum      36
1994    Dave Targonski      36
1995    Dan Henry      45
1996    Robert Kondracki      46
1997    Ed O'Connor      42
1998    Joe Dragan      48
1999    Alan Applebaum     48
2000    Andy Gardner     50
2001    Dan Henry     48
2002    Dan Henry     50
2003    Ed Menzel     39
2004    Michael Kaye     44
2005     Andy Gardner     32

AREA Ratings:

GM: John Sharp

Dice in the Pacific

This year VIP will again use Chess Clocks courtesy of Alan Applebaum ­ one of the few events at WBC so furnished.

In 2006, the event moves upstairs to the Heritage room which is located behind the front desk in the lobby. The event remains a Pre-Con slot as well as we trade one weekend for another with seven swiss rounds starting on the Sunday before WBC and ending Tuesday afternoon before WBC and all of its distractions gets underway. It is hoped that the pre-Con status will enable not only new players to take part but also allow more of the field to stay for all seven rounds so as to enjoy the full ramifications of a true swiss format.

NEW FOR 2006: Tribune level members may freely partake in any and all of BPA's six Pre-Cons during the three days preceding WBC. For details see

Play at Rising Sun for non-Tribune/Sponsor level members requires a separate registration fee of $30 for BPA members pre-registered by July 22nd, 2006, or $40 for all others, payable to the BPA, 1541 Redfield Rd, Bel Air, MD 21015. This fee can be paid separately or in addition to other WBC fees noted on the WBC pre-registration form.

For the latest details, see

 GM      John Sharp [3rd Year]   4701 Hamlets Grove Drive, Sarasota, FL 34235  941-359-3991

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.