mystery of the abbey [Updated April 2006]

   18   20     

Ballroom B    Paradise Terrace, Table 2

Lisa Gutermuth, TX

2005 Champion

2nd: James Allaire, CT

3rd: Alexandra Henning, CT

4th: Brandon Bernard, PA

5th: Katherine Hitchings, DE

6th: Lauren Vessey, DE
Event History
2003    David Wenstrup     98
2004     David Burkey     31
2005     Lisa Gutermuth     27

AREA Ratings:

GM: Ken Gutermuth

Never trust a Benedictine ...

Mystery of the Abbey is "the thinking person's Clue ... a new kind of whodunit boardgame of deduction in a medieval abbey. Players attempt to discover, "Who Killed Brother Adelmo by moving through the beautifully illustrated Abbey board, searching for clues, questioning the other monks and using their intuition to uncover the truth.

Points are scored in two ways: By making correct revelations about one characteristic of the guilty monk (worth two points); or by making a correct accusation of who the culprit is (worth four points). An incorrect revelation subtracts one point from the player's score and an incorrect accusation subtracts two points.

Tournament Rules:
One Qualifying round will be held with each participant playing in one 4-6 player game. Winners of qualifying games, plus other top point earners (determined by number of entrants) qualify for the second and final round. Semifinal winners and/or top point earners (depending on number of qualifiers) then move on to a Final Round if necessary. The Final will consist of one 4-6 player game. Recent participation levels would indicate that only two rounds will suffice.

Learning the Game - New Players:
Beginners are welcome. There will be a teaching demonstration in Paradise Terrace on Wednesday. Attendance is mandatory for those who have not played previously or read the rules. Otherwise, do not expect to be taught how to play during or before the event.

 GM      Ken Gutermuth  [1st Year]   NA
   NA   NA

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.