march madness [updated April 2006]

    19      13
    9    9
       9     10

     Conestoga 2   Paradise Terrace, Table 7

Marvin Birnbaum, NY

2005 Champion

2nd: Sean McCulloch, OH

3rd: Bruce Reiff, OH

4th: John Ellmann, MD

5th: Dennis Nicholson, NY

6th: John Coussis, IL
Event History
1992    Bruce Reiff      14
1993    Terry Coleman      18
1994    Terry Coleman      37
1995    Ken Gutermuth      46
1996    Jon Diminnie      41
1997    Bruce Reiff      47
1998    Bruce Reiff      44
1999    Bruce Reiff     49
2000    Bruce Monnin     44
2001    Dennis Nicholson     46
2002    Debbie Garver     39
2003    Ken Gutermuth     45
2004     John Coussis     42
2005     Marvin Birnbaum     45 

AREA Ratings:

GM: Terry Coleman

March Madness in August ...

The format changed several years ago after much discussion. A survey of the participants in 1998 has shown that the majority of the players prefer a faster format with less waiting between games so each player will be limited to one team per heat. Prior to this, many of the lower seeds were compensated by getting a second team in each heat. However, every time an upset occurred, somebody had to wait for their next game - making the continuous play of each heat problematical when someone had two teams still alive. The current format plays much faster as a result.

This year, we will move away from pre-generated brackets in order to have everyone playing immediately and less downtime between rounds. Byes, if needed, will be in accordance with WBC rules.

The teams will continue to be organized so that they compete in their traditional regions -- UCLA in the west, Indiana in the Midwest, etc. If we are fortunate enough to have say, 15 or 16 players in a heat, pre-generated brackets can still work. What I intend is, after all teams have been selected, to re-do the brackets if there isn't such an easily 'bracketable' number. This is a very simple procedure, as all teams will be pre-ranked going into the regional -- they just won't be pre-assigned to play seed #5 or #12 or whatever.

So, if we have 18 or 12 or 20 players show up, I'll match all of them up in the first round --which means that instead of the top seeds immediately getting a bye [or worse, multiple byes], #1 will play the bottom seed, #2 will play next-to-lowest, and so forth. Lower seeds that spring upsets will still be rewarded with their 'quarter' of the bracket opening up.

Since we have brackets -- albeit not pre-generated ones -- there won't be excessive ducking. If anything, ducking opponents or teams will be less than usual, since a player won't know for sure which team he/she will play in round 1 until all of the picks are made, which if anything, should speed up the picks. By the way, the GM will no longer allow the practice of 'dropping down' to select a later pick. If you are picking third, you're picking third, I don't care if you select the 20th seed. Players lucky enough to garner a top four pick will select last in subsequent heats, as has been the practice for some years now; it seems to work well.

After team selections are completed, the GM will finish the brackets. This shouldn't take any time at all, really, since the process will already be well under way while the final teams are being selected. Once completed, brackets are then signed off by the GM & Asst GMs for that heat, and off we go. If byes become necessary, we do them according to WBC rules [former
champs first, etc]. The key is that we will inevitably have fewer byes, which keeps things moving quickly. And more importantly, we get everyone playing from the start -- more fun, less down time.

The Final Four will once again be scheduled at the convenience of the players if possible.

Rules Clarifications:
12.4) What happens to cards removed by a "Withdrawn Strategy Card"?
A.) They are returned to the player's hand.

12.7) Can a "Coaching Move" negate an opponent's "Timeout" re-roll of a scoring resolution?
A.) No. The scoring resolution, including all re-rolls, must be completed before the Player whose turn it is may take a "Coaching Move".

12.8) If both players have a Timeout available and the potential need to use it, which player has to declare if he/she is using a Timeout first?
A.) The resolving player must declare if he/she is using a Timeout first.

12.9) What is the penalty for an "F" shooter who gets into foul trouble since he cannot lose a letter grade?
A.) The player he is guarding is eligible for a +1 die roll modifier.

13) How many coaching moves do you get in overtime? Where is the timer set?
A.) Take the original coaching rating minus all technical fouls on the coach and divide the result by two, rounding up. Clock is set at 5 minutes.

14.1) "Box and One" or "Zone Defense" cards state they can be used once per half. If I have two of either of these cards, may I use each card once per half?
A.) No. The Box and One and Zone Defense effects can only be employed once per half, no matter how many such cards you have.

14.2.5 How is the "Key Sixth Man" card used?
1) If the Key Sixth Man is already played on a position which suffers a foul, it eliminates the effect of the foul during that resolution.

2) If Key Sixth Man is played immediately after suffering a second foul, it can be used to prevent fouling out (though it would not affect the scoring resolution for that position). This tactic can be prevented if the player
resolving the position immediately takes a Coaching Move.

3) Key Sixth Man may be played on a position 'face-up' to remove a foul at that position, in which case, the Key Sixth Man card is discarded and the foul removed. However, this requires that there be a slot available - if there are already two cards on that position, the card cannot be played there unless one of the other cards is removed. Playing the Key Sixth Man card requires that the player use a normal move or coaching move, just as when normally playing any other card.

14.2.6) Does the 4-point bonus for "Clutch Free Throws" apply to an already existing foul? To a foul that is immediately removed by a "Key Sixth Man" or "Zone Defense"? To a foul that is negated by a Timeout roll?
A.) No. Yes. No, unless the re-roll also results in a foul on the opposing player.

14.2.7) For this tournament, the bonus for the player guarding the offensive specialist card is doubled to TWO letter grades.

14.3.6 & 14.3.7) Can a "Controlling The Boards" and "Boxing Out" affect other positions before the position they are played on is resolved? After?
A.) Yes. No.

NOTE: A "Clutch Free Throws" card is never negated, just as it states on the card. This is true even if the opponent has played a "Box and One" card on that position. Of course, the opponent must foul for the "Clutch Free Throws" card to score any points.

 GM      Terry Coleman [3rd Year]   NA    NA

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.