for the people [Updated April 2006]

     9    14   19
  9     14   


James Pei, TX

2001-05 Champion

2nd: David Dockter, MN

3rd: Nicholas Pei, CA

4th: Rob Winslow, NY

5th: Robert Sohn, NJ

6th: Doug Mercer, MD
Event History
1999    James Pei     22
2000    Trevor Bender     21
2001    James Pei     22
2002    James Pei     29
2003    James Pei     32
2004     James Pei     35
2005    James Pei     24 

AREA Ratings:

GM: Mark Herman

the game's designer

A Civil but Merciless Tournament

For the People
is a two player Grand Strategic level game of the American Civil War between the United States of America (USA) and the Confederate States of America (CSA). Players represent the major decision makers for each side, not any particular general (historically, Lincoln and Davis). Forces are represented by generic brigade (CSA) or division (USA) sized formations, which can be grouped into army level organizations. Most of the historically important generals are represented by named leader counters (who appear at the point in which they assumed major command historically). Each turn each player draws a specific number of cards. These cards are used to drive the activities in the game. They can be played to activate a force, trigger a historic event, and most other game functions. The map uses a point to point system that covers the areas where all major operations could or did occur. Each turn represents about four months of time.

The format is Single Elimination of five-hour rounds of the Campaign scenario. Version 2.6b of the rules (available free from the For The People website) will be in effect. No optional rules (leader or operations queue).

Medalists (plaque winners) will receive merchandise credits of $15 for 1st, $10 for second, and $5 for third place.

 GM      Mark Herman  [4th Year]   NA    NA

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.