age of renaissance [Updated April 2006]

   18    19
    9        19 


Mark Smith, KY

2005 Champion

2nd: Kevin Sudy, VA

3rd: Brett Mingo, MD

4th: Bill Crenshaw, VA

5th: Jeff Ridenour, CA

6th: Ewan McNay, CT
Event History
1996    Mike May        30
1997    George Sauer      106
1998    Mark Giddings      124
1999    Ewan McNay     115
2000    Ewan McNay       81
2001    Rich Curtin       80
2002    Ken Gutermuth       65
2003    Ewan McNay       47
2004    Steve Simmons       42
2005     Mark Smith       36

AREA Ratings

GM: Ted Mullally

Shorter than Ever ... No Semis!

Changes to note this year:
(1) Lighten up and have fun! We will seriously enforce good sportsmanship this year. Unfortunately all too frequently AoR games have gotten out of hand with inappropriate conduct. Remember, we all are here to have fun, and believe it or not people don't enjoy games when they are verbally abused. No yelling, screaming, berating,baiting or personal attacks will be allowed. Please keep all whining to a minimum and avoid hostile threatening (i.e., if you really think you need to threaten someone, do so politely). Players who engage in inappropriate conduct, after consultation, may be barred from participation.
(2) There will be no semifinals this year. The finals will have six players (unless there are only five winners in attendance, in which case it will have five players).
(3) If there are more than six heat winners, the finalists will be determined as follows: (1) any players who have won both heats will advance; (2) the remaining spots will be divided between: (a) first, the player(s) who have won a game and have the highest percentage score total for two games and (b) second, the player(s) who have won a game and have the highest single game percentage score. Percentage scores for winners will be determined by dividing their score by the second place score. Percentage scores for non-winners will be determined by dividing their score by the winner's score. This system means you can advance by winning one game if you win by a large enough margin, but you have a better chance to advance if you play in both heats. In any case, check the Alternate list on the Kiosk. If qualified but not advancing, notify the GM AND scratch your name from the Alternate list.
(4) Games should take no longer than five hours to play. We will allow a 15 minute grace period. Thereafter, all players will be assessed a penalty of 5% of their score for each additional 15 minutes it takes the game to conclude. The exception to this will be if all but one player at a table unanimously state that Player X was responsible for the problems; this should be pointed out to the GM WELL IN ADVANCE so that he can issue warnings and, if believed necessary, take any other action with the problematic player.
(5) None of this should come across as taking away from the primary motive of having fun! As ever, the large majority of players don't need to worry about timing or experience - but a few problems can really spoil the fun for a lot of people.
(6) We will again be using the Immediate-Discard House Rule for Master Art which was introduced at the 1998 event. (The buyer may immediately discard upon purchasing the Master Art advance. Subsequent discards occur during the Buy Card Phase.) No other house rules will be used.

The official AH FAQ and Errata will be in effect: these can be found below, but have frankly never been an issue.

4.2 What is the extent of the Bay of Biscay? A. It is considered adjacent to all Coastal Provinces between Edinburg and Seville.

Does Paris connect directly to Portsmouth? A. Yes

Is the Coastal area of Barca (VIII) connected to the Eastern Med? A. Yes

Does the Norwegian Sea have any practical purpose? A. Only artistic consistency for separating Coastal waters from Oceans.

Are Iceland and West Africa treated like any other Coastal province except that they are only accessible across a sea? A. Yes

Is St Gali a satellite of Nuremburg?
A. Technically no, since it lacks an arrow into Nuremburg. However, house rules allowing it are encouraged since that was our intent.

4.4 Are tokens in their home capital doubled for defense AND for attacks? A. Yes

4.4/9.53 How does nationalism affect the doubling of the original owner's strength in his capital? A. Example: If Genoa attacks his own capital held by Paris with a Domination marker, Genoa needs 5 (5 x 2 = 10). But if Venice has the Domination marker and Nationalism, Genoa needs 6 (6 x 2 = 12) tokens to attack. But if Genoa has Nationalism and Paris is there instead, Genoa needs only 5 tokens. In the latter case, nationalism has no effect since the market number must be matched in tokens regardless of their strength.

9.32 - If all expansion tokens have been purchased (none remain in stock) when a player loses a domination marker to a disaster (such as Rebellion), may the player replace the marker with a square token from his expansion pool? Must he? A. Yes, the player may -- at his option -- use expansion tokens in such cases. Alternatively, you may leave the space empty if you have none in stock.

9.32 - Can Armor and Stirrups be played in the same turn by the same player to obtain a +2 advantage? A. Yes

9.32/9.61- How does Chaos affect the order of play? A. Players in chaos are assumed to be buying zero expansion tokens and play order is determined in the usual fashion. Note that to be able to cancel a Surplus or Shortage as the first player, you must bid negative tokens for the right to go before the chaos player's bid of 0.

9.32 If Armor or Stirrups has been played and Gunpowder or Longbow is played later in the same Play Cards Phase, the Armor/Stirrups card is not discarded when it is voided. Since it has already been played, Armor/Stirrups cannot be an unplayable misery burden, but it does not have any effect vs the player(s) who later played the Gunpowder/Longbow cards in that round.

9.33 If you have Printed Word and play a leader with two credits, one of which is for an Advance you have, you get the rebate for the one you have even if you don't buy the other Advance. Moreover, it is possible to gain credits for two or more advances from a leader, if all advances are already owned.

9.33 Can a player who owns Printed Word and Patronage, patronize a leader to claim a rebate? A. No - read the last sentence of 9.33.

9.33 If you have Printed Word and play a leader with two credits, one of which is for an Advance you have, you get the rebate for the one you have even if you don't buy the other Advance.

9.41 All Galleys of a player with The Heavens may use it to cross one sea. The limit is not one sea per player per turn, but rather one sea for any shipment per turn.

9.5 Can you attack through a newly controlled area to a second area via Caravan? A. Yes

9.5/9.53 Can extra expansion tokens be placed in a friendly dominated province for defense purposes even though they will be eliminated at the end of the Expansion Phase? A. No. Any Dominated province cannot receive extra tokens except for the purpose of placing sufficient tokens to attack that Domination.

9.51 As long as you pay 3 tokens for the first and 6 tokens for the second, can you buy more than one Expansion card in an Expansion Phase? A. No. The rule is quite specific about being able to purchase only one.

9.53 Are only white tokens lost in a failed attack? For example, if there are two blue and 3 purple tokens coexisting from a previous turn in Marseilles and purple moves in four white tokens to challenge blue but loses, does Purple lose only the four new ones? A. No. Purple loses all tokens.

Q. I have a token co-existing with another player's token and then I take control of that province. Can I use the Wind/Watermill to force a trade from the beaten player? A. No. "taken from another player" means that you must control a province before it can be taken from you. You cannot lose that which you do not possess.

Cathedral can be used once per turn against a non-owner on either offense or defense.

Q. If you want to Cathedral a province containing tokens of more than one player, does that count as one use of Cathedral or one vs each player in that province? A. One vs each and if any of those players is not subject to Cathedral, the province cannot be taken by Cathedral.

Q. Since it is legal to remove a round token and replace it with a square one, could you then add a square(s) from Expansion to create a new domination token in an effort to gain the free Expansion card? A. No. You must actually need a new Domination token by virtue of already having 25 in play to remove a Domination token voluntarily and even then a "rebuilt" Domination token would not count towards the Expansion bonus.

Q. Can a player buy more expansion tokens than he has available in order to pay off Holy Indulgence penalties with the extra since that payment is made before he actually uses his tokens? A. No ­ although he can actually pay more for them in an attempt to go last during the Expansion Phase.

9.61 The rule states that a commodity die roll of 12 affects both Gold and Ivory equally. Does this mean that if there is a shortage, there can be two cards drawn by the respective majority holders? At the beginning of the next turn, to remove a shortage would the player need to pay $10 or $20? A. Yes. $10.

Q. When there is a double Shortage or Surplus, does this mean that the player draws twice //pays twice? A. Yes

9.7 Civil War is played on a player who owns or buys Renaissance. Both Civil War and Renaissance use the term "at the start" when referring to a round. Which goes first? A. The Civil War penalty is enacted first. A player with an unused Renaissance power may then trade places.

Marco Polo is worth $40 after Mongol Armies for both Cosmopolitan and Overland East.

10. Under "diplomacy", is it legal to play an event card such as Black Death and hold an auction to decide who it is played on, or to offer a Silk card in your hand in return for cash, or if a player discards a card using Master Art, paying him to pick it back up and play it instead, or to pay a player not to attack one of your cities, or to attack another player's province instead?
A. NO! Players may plead, protest and whine all they want but the actual payment of bribes for services rendered is strictly illegal. That is not to say that a player could not be influenced into taking a different course of action in exchange for a promised favor in return, but such promises are entirely unenforceable and any direct payment for services rendered should be considered the lowest form of cheating. Remember it is strictly illegal to show any card before it is played. You can promise to play a card a certain way, but you absolutely cannot show the identity of any card you hold until it is played.

11.1 If someone has bought all 26 Advances, is the final turn still played out with a FINAL CARD PLAY as if the deck had run out of cards?  A. Yes

11.1 During the final turn's Income Phase do you still roll for new Shortage/Surplus status to apply to the Final Card Play?
A. Yes

11.2 Can a card be discarded (with Master Art) instead of played after the Final Turn Income Phase and before the Final Card Play? A. No

11.2 Is the FINAL CARD PLAY phase considered a different turn as far as the cards are concerned? I.e., If Enlightened Ruler is played during the final turn, does it still protect him in the Final Card Play? A. No; Yes

11.2 When do rerolls occur in the case of a tie with the War card? A. That same phase, for each player remaining during their Play Card phase, until the tie is broken (possibly continuing into the next turn during the next Play Card Phase).

Q. Does Gunpowder's advantage over Longbow apply to ties in War in addition to Gunpowder's +1 which caused the tie?
A. Yes

11.2 CIVIL WAR: If this card is played in the Final Card Play, must the victim lose half his cash since he has no tokens?
A. No - he would lose half of his 0 tokens; i.e. 0. The only effect of this card if a player has no tokens is the reduction of his capital, and an increase in misery.

11.4 A tied War continues in the next player's Play Card turn. If that player is in the War, he can play a military advantage card before the War continues.

Q. When Alchemist Gold is played, the card specifically says that cash spent on patronage defense is not vulnerable. No mention is made of cash spent to purchase a card with Urban Ascendancy. Is this an oversight in the rules, or is cash already spent with Urban Ascendancy subject to Alchemist Gold? A. The phrase "penalty cannot exceed current cash" covers this. The penalty is half of the written cash (which would include money spent on Urban Ascendancy) but it cannot exceed cash on hand so if the Urban Ascendancy money is all a player had, he would not lose it.

WBC HOUSE RULE: The Attribute of Master Art is amended to allow its owner to immediately discard one card during the turn of its purchase in addition to its normal discard abilities during the Buy Card Phase.

 GM     Ted Mullally [1st year] NA NA

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.