Wingspan (WSN) PBeM Reports Updated September 21, 2023

2023 PBeM Tournament
  Sixty-one players signed up for the first Wingspan PBEM tournament. Play consisted of three rounds, during which each player completed four simultaneous games. During each round players were ranked according to their cumulative results using a 1000-100-10-1 scoring system. A total of eighty-nine games were played.

Mike Munson and Matthew Thiessen both finished the first round undefeated with four wins. Three other players won three games: Jon Senn, Tim Mossman, Rob Davidson. Twenty-one players advanced to semifinal. Five players finished at the cutoff score of 1210, with two of those five missing out on the tiebreaker.

Mike Munson once again topped the standings in the semifinal, winning three games with one second-place finish. Michael Thiessen joined him in the final by also winning three games. Eric Freeman, Andrew Emerick, Rob Davidson, and Curt Collins all also advanced to the final. Geoff Heintzelman claimed the last spot with a score of 1210, beating out two others via tiebreak.

Four players won games in the final round. Curt and Michael each won one game to finish 3rd and 4th respectively. Mike won two wins for 2nd place. Rob earned three victories, winning the 2023 Wingspan PBEM championship. The top six finishers were:

  1. Rob Davidson
  2. Mike Munson
  3. Curt Collins
  4. Michael Thiessen
  5. Andrew Emerick
  6. Eric Freeman

Over the course of the tournament, Rob Davidson had the highest winning score with 113, while Brandon Buchanan earned the lowest winning score at 74. Giovan Battista Pignatti had the highest non-winning score with 106, losing the game on a tiebreaker. The average winning score across all games was 92.

Analyzing the turn order from the start of the game, Seat 3 had the most wins with 25, while Seat 2 had the best average finish (2.36) and highest average score (80.5). Seat 1 had the fewest wins (19), worst average finish (2.60), and lowest average score (78.17). Overall, there was little difference between the starting positions.

Congratulations to all the laurelists and thank you to everyone who participated in the event.