PBeM fun is free to current BPA members. Others may qualify with a $10 Email membership in the year the event starts. All multi-day paid attendees to WBC are current BPA members for the balance of that calendar year. You need not keep your membership current in order to finish a PBeM event. Players may join the BPA throughout the year. See the BPA Terms page for details.

BPA members who would like to see an email tournament for their favorite game are encouraged to step forward as the GM of such an event. BPA does not run tournaments. Rather, we are an organization of gamers lending support to one another so such events can happen. No one cares as much about your hobby as you do. Get involved. See the requirements to host a BPA email tournament at abovethefields.com/top_pbem/

  June Update Last updated 6/12/2017.

HAMEL WINS MARCH MADNESS: Bob Hamel became the twelfth different champion by winning this year’s tournament in a field of 46 players.  His 7th seeded Indiana 1953 team defeated Haim Hochboim’s 42nd seeded Missouri 2009 team 85-75.  The top six finishers were Bob Hamel, Haim Hochboim, Don Greenwood, Mike Pacheco, Bruce Monnin, and Ken Gutermuth. See all the matchups and scores at http://www.nktelco.net/bdmonnin/mm-brack-2017.htm. Details can be found in the March Madness event report.

LYNG WINS TWILIGHT STRUGGLE: After a two year struggle and 307 games logged, Wayne Bonnet and Ted Lyng advanced from a field of 74 players and a 2015 start to contest the final round of the 2017 BPA Twilight Struggle PBeM tournament. After bidding, Ted took the U.S. + 3 IPs in a trans-Pacific battle. Wayne is from New Zealand as Americans face an increasingly worldwide class of competition with four nations represented by the top six players - including Russian Sergey Kosarev. Details can be found in the Twilight Struggle event report.

MUSELLA WINS WATERLOO: Marty Musella defeated defending champion Joe Beard in the Final matching the top two seeds from the field of 21 in the second BPA PBeM tournament. Details are available on the tournament web site at http://watgame.com/, including turn by turn game maps of the championship match. The top six finishers were: Marty Musella, Joe Beard, Richard Beyma, Bert Schoose, Ed Menzel, and Gary Dickson.  Details can be found in the Waterloo Event Report.

PRO GOLF ENTERS FINAL ROUND: The Masters has come and gone but our BPA duffers have entered the Third Round in their quest for the coveted BPA Green Jacket. 16 golfers made the cut from Round 2 with Ken Gutermuth and Derek Landel leading the way at 7 under par. Round 3, which ends on June 30, is being played at Pebble Beach.  Ken Gutermuth and Pete Stein are the current leaders at 9 under par and are still on the course. John Coussis is the current leader in the clubhouse.

WAR AT SEA 2017-18 TOURNAMENT BEGINS: The 2017-18 War at Sea Tournament, the 12th for the BPA, has begun.  Information about the tournament can be found at https://waratsea.jimdo.com.

ANNOUNCING 9th BITTER WOODS PBeM: The 9th BPA Bitter Woods PBeM tournament will commence on August 1.  Players must be members of the BPA in order to enter the competition. All games will be AREA rated. The tournament will follow a single elimination format with play of the 6 turn and 8 Turn Attack on 16AM. The length of each round will be 13 weeks. The GM is Bruno Sinigaglio who can be reached at brunofjs@hotmail.com if there are any questions on the tournament. Check out the Bitterwoods website managed by Tom Gregorio and Ed Witkowski at http://www.bitterwoods.net/.

ANNOUNCING 3rd WATERLOO PBeM: The Waterloo 2017-18 email tournament will start August 1.  Contact GM Ed Menzel (edmenzel@roadrunner.com) to sign up. It will be single elimination with auction bidding for sides. Rules and rule clarifications will be the same as the last two tournaments with one exception: The Wissel brigades arrival will be delayed until the 18-0700 turn in accordance with the change for this year’s WBC. Round lengths will be 3 months. All players must be current members of the BPA. Details are available on the tournament web site at http://watgame.com/.